Southern Cross Stakes 2011 Nominations Released

February 8, 2011

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Southern Cross Stakes 2011 Nominations Released

This Saturday the Royal Randwick Racecourse will host the latest Sydney Autumn Carnival meeting featuring an excellent line-up of Group races including the $125,000 Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes (1200m).

Eighteen gallopers make up the 2011 Southern Cross Stakes nominations including a number of Group winners and placegetters from the spring.

Top-rated entries heading towards this year’s Southern Cross Stakes include Beneteau who is also nominated for the Royal Sovereign Stakes at the same meeting, Brilliant Light, the John Thompson-trained Count Encosta and Pinwheel.

The Peter Snowden-trained Lonhro five-year-old Pinwheel is sure to start one of the favourites in the Southern Cross Stakes betting markets at Luxbet following their first-up win in the Listed Canterbury BMW Classic (1100m) on January 14.

Other notable Southern Cross Stakes entries include David Payne’s consistent Elusive Quality five-year-old Cardinal Virtue, the Chris Waller-trained Shellscrape and Trader representing trainer Anthony Cummings.

The 16-starter Southern Cross Stakes final field will be out tomorrow and published here at followed by the form guide and race betting tips so stay tuned.

Ensure you are getting the absolute best odds on all your autumn bets by avoiding the TAB and their inferior odds, and signing up with premier online bookie Luxbet now!

2011 Southern Cross Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Handicapper Rating
1 AHDASHIM (NZ) Gerald Ryan
2 BENETEAU Paul Messara 90
3 BRILLIANT LIGHT Kerry Parker 103
5 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 93
6 EGO’S DARE Gerald Ryan 97
7 EMPIRE PLACE (NZ) David Payne
8 JEST CREWSIN’ Jan Bowen 94
9 KILLIAN Peter Snowden 83
10 NEWS ALERT Con Karakatsanis
11 PINWHEEL Peter Snowden 105
12 PURENESS Gai Waterhouse 87
13 PURRPURRLENA Grahame Begg 93
14 SCOUTING WIDE (NZ) Tim Martin 95
15 SHELLSCRAPE Chris Waller
16 SISTER MADLY Anthony Cummings 95
17 THE JACKAL Paul St Vincent
18 TRADER Anthony Cummings

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney ...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney Trial on Monday

The world’s best mare Winx will be on show under the public eye for the first...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018 Target for Japanese Expat

Mornington horseman Anthony Freedman is eyeing the 2018 Futurity Stakes on...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field