Hobart Race Results – Mourinho wins the 2011 Tasmanian Derby

February 7, 2011

Hobart Race Results – Mourinho wins the 2011 Tasmanian Derby

Trainer Peter Gelagotis has celebrated his first ever Group win after Mourinho won the 2011 Tasmanian Derby (2,200m) on Saturday February 5, 2011.

Mourinho began early favourite with bookmakers such as Luxbet, but settled into third place in the betting behind Heez Born Lucky and $3.80 favourite Ludka.

Mourinho won the 2011 Tasmanian Derby on Tattersall Park‘s dead-rated track with Victorian jockey Anthony Darmanin on board.

Darmanin settled his horse in fifth position after a slow first mile tempo set by Stella Rose and favourite Ludka.

Mourinho then proved he was much too strong for the rest of the field when he accelerated at the home turn and bolted to an easy lead in the final straight.

The three-year-old gelding won the Group 3 Tasmanian Derby by nearly three lengths ahead of Heez Born lucky and third place getter Jay Bee’s Gee Gee.

Mourinho’s trainer, Peter Gelagotis, found it hard to hide his excitement after his horse beat the classy field to win the $150,000 prize money offered.

“This is my biggest win in racing and my first Group race,” Mr Gelagotis said.

“His win at Moonee Valley two starts back was very good and it didn’t surprise me to see him win the way he did.”

Peter Gelagotis was also quick to speak of his high hopes for the winning gelding’s future.

“I will be sending him straight to the paddock for a spell and he will be back for the spring in Melbourne,” he said.

“He will make a great Country Cups horse and he may even win a good race during the Spring Carnival in Melbourne.”

Mourinho has now won three races from six starts and has only failed to place twice, including last start where he finished last at Flemington.

Race favourite Ludka proved that he was unable to stay the full 2,200 metres when he weakened badly to finish seventh.

Ludka’s jockey Steven King felt that the horse’s performance may be a sign it is in need of a spell.

“She gave me a good ride but was gone a long way from home,” said Mr King.

“I’m not certain but she may have had enough this preparation.”

Runner up Heez Born Lucky had a difficult run and did well to finish second after coming from last down the home straight.

Jockey Rhys McLeod commented that he felt his horse may have won the race had they drawn a decent barrier, as opposed to their starting barrier of nine.

Tiger Won’t Tell’s jockey Brendon McCoull felt that his horse did well to run fourth in the race considering the circumstances.

“We struck interference at the 500m and we got smashed, he ran well considering,” Mr McCoull said.

Race winner Mourinho was purchased for $36,000 at the 2009 Inglis Classic Yearling sale and has now earned more than $150,000 in prize money.

Don’t worry if you missed out on cashing in on this year’s Tasmanian Derby results.

Open an account with Luxbet today to ensure that you never miss a betting opportunity again.

Quote the promo code BONUS400 in order to receive a free bet of up to $400.

2011 Tasmanian Derby Results

HORSE Rider Fin SP

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Impending heads up 2018 Victor...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field