2011 Melbourne Cup Race Date

January 31, 2011

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2011 Melbourne Cup Race Date

The 2011 Melbourne Cup race date is scheduled as Tuesday November 1, 2011 as the showcase event on the horse racing calendar at the famous Flemington Racecourse in Victoria.

Worth over $6 million in prize money, the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) is the richest and most prestigious race conducted in Australia each year and is the headline event of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Melbourne Cup winner American

Last year's Melbourne Cup winner American

Each year the Melbourne Cup takes place at approximately the same time and the 2011 Melbourne Cup is set to run as Flemington Race 7 on the first Tuesday in November, with the Melbourne Cup race time set at 3:00pm (AEDST).

Early Melbourne Cup 2011 betting markets have Maluckday installed as the favourite to win this year’s staying showdown.

The Hawkes-trained Zabeel gelding burst onto the racing scene last spring scoring victory in the Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) on Derby Day before running second to Americain in the 2010 Melbourne Cup result.

Other top fancies in the futures Melbourne Cup odds include the Lloyd William-owned grey Linton, defending Melbourne Cup winner Americain, reigning Victoria Derby winner Lion Tamer and Ciaron Maher’s Warrnambool galloper Moudre.

Official 2011 Melbourne Cup nominations close on August 2, 2011 followed by three rounds of declarations before the Melbourne Cup final field of acceptances is released on Saturday October 29, 2011.

2011 Melbourne Cup Nomination & Declaration Dates*

  • Nominations: 2 August 2011
  • Late Nominations: 9 August 2011
  • Handicaps Declared: 31 August 2011
  • First Declaration: 6 September 2011
  • Second Declaration: 4 October 2011
  • Third Declaration: 24 October 2011
  • Final Declaration: 29 October 2011
  • Barrier Draw: 29 October 2011
  • Race Day: 1 November 2011

* Dates are approximate until confirmed by VRC

Races.com.au will be the definitive site for punters during the 2011 Melbourne Cup Carnival keeping our readers up to date with the latest Melbourne Cup 2011 news, field updates, betting markets, odds, form and tips.

Leading online bookmaker Luxbet will have all the 2011 Melbourne Cup odds and markets open months in advance so make sure you sign up with them and back this year’s Melbourne Cup winner at the best price through Luxbet!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field