2011 Newmarket Handicap Nominations – Possible Black Caviar & Hay List Rematch

January 15, 2011

2011 Newmarket Handicap Nominations – Possible Black Caviar & Hay List Rematch

The 2011 Newmarket Handicap is looming as one of the most spectacular races of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival as it could feature a rematch between champion sprinters Black Caviar and Hay List. The 1200m handicap race is worth $1million in prize money and will be run as one of the headline events at Flemington’s Super Saturday on March 12 2011.

Black Caviar and Hay List had their first showdown at the 2010 Patinack Farm Classic. After much hype over the contest Black Caviar demolished the quality field of sprinters in the 1200m race at Flemington by 4 lengths. Hay List faded to finish 6th, but had some excuse after sustaining a leg injury in the lead up to the race. So far 4-year-old mare Black Caviar is unbeaten in all of her 8 career starts.

The Group 1 Newmarket Handicap has received a total of 74 nominations this year. Other notable nominations include Typhoon Tracy, Reward For Effort, More Joyous, Ilovethiscity, Ahdashim and Golden Slipper winner Crystal Lilly.

Trainer Peter Moody leads the nominations with a total of 12 entries, Mark Kavanagh has 4 while Gai Waterhouse, Gerald Ryan and David Hayes each have 3 nominations.

The final field of 24 horses will be announced on March 9 2011.

2011 Newmarket Handicap Nominations

No Horse Trainer Handicapper Rating
1 ACORNS Mick Price 82
2 AHDASHIM (NZ) Gerald Ryan 100
3 ANACHEEVA Peter G Moody 108
4 AVENUE Peter G Moody 106
5 BEADED Peter Snowden 109
6 BENETEAU Paul Messara
7 BIGELOW Clinton McDonald 82
8 BLACK CAVIAR Peter G Moody 118
9 BORDER REBEL Sue Grills 105
10 BRAZILIAN PULSE (NZ) Michael Moroney 106
11 BRILLIANT LIGHT Kerry Parker 103
12 BURDEKIN BLUES Barry Baldwin 108
13 CAPTAIN COLTISH Peter G Moody 98
14 CATAPULTED Mark Kavanagh 108
15 CHASM Heath Conners 102
16 CRYSTAL LILY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 107
17 DECISION TIME Clarry Conners
18 DIAMONDCOWBOY Gary Sherer 64
19 DISSOLVED Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 86
20 DOUBTFUL JACK Peter G Moody 105
21 EAGLE FALLS David Hayes 107
22 ECLAIR MYSTIC Robert Smerdon 96
23 EGO’S DARE Gerald Ryan 96
24 FACE OFF Shaun Dwyer 68
25 FIRST COMMAND Lee Freedman 107
26 GRAND DUELS Byron Cozamanis 105
27 HAY LIST John McNair 115
28 HINCHINBROOK Peter G Moody 91
29 HUXSSEN Jim Conlan 91
30 ILOVETHISCITY Grahame Begg 93
31 JEREZANA Peter Snowden 89
32 KEANO (NZ) Danny O’Brien 98
33 KING PULSE Michael Moroney 99
34 LOVE CONQUERS ALL Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 106
35 MARCONI Mick Price 76
36 MARQUARDT (NZ) John P Thompson 95
37 MASTER HARRY Peter G Moody 74
38 MASTER OF DESIGN Adam Durrant 78
39 MELITO Gerald Ryan 113
40 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 118
41 ORTENSIA Tony Noonan 113
42 PALATINE (NZ) Shaun Dwyer 72
43 PANIPIQUE Peter G Moody 88
44 PAPRIKA Liam Birchley
45 POTIONS John P Thompson 65
46 QUICK PEEK Anthony Cummings 75
47 RESPONSE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 107
48 REWARD FOR EFFORT Peter G Moody 107
49 SANDUSKY CITY (NZ) Grant Craven 86
50 SARGE IN CHARGE (NZ) Liam Birchley 77
51 SET FOR FAME Peter G Moody 107
52 SHANGHAI EXPRESS Dan O’Sullivan 68
53 SHELLSCRAPE Chris Waller 103
54 SHRAPNEL Mark Kavanagh 89
55 SISTER MADLY Anthony Cummings 96
56 SMOKIN’ JOEY Lee Freedman 76
57 SNAPPARAZI Barbara Marshman 91
58 SNAPY HALO (ARG) Mick Price
59 SO ANYWAY John P Thompson
60 STAR WITNESS Danny O’Brien 113
61 STIRLING GROVE Richard Jolly 91
62 STRATEGIC MANEUVER Gai Waterhouse 70
63 SWIFT ALLIANCE Gai Waterhouse 108
64 THE FUGITIVE David Hayes 80
65 TRADER Anthony Cummings 95
66 TURNSTILES (NZ) Anthony Cummings 71
67 TWILIGHT SAVINGS (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker
68 TYPHOON TRACY Peter G Moody 117
69 UNDENIABLY Mark Kavanagh 85
70 VARENNA MISS Tony Noonan 86
71 VOILE ROUGE (NZ) David Hayes 82
72 WE’RE GONNA ROCK Mark Kavanagh 95
73 WHITEFRIARS Rick Worthington 105
74 ZELSNITZ Peter G Moody 82

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field