Waratah’s Secret Scores Victory in 2010 AJ Scahill Stakes

December 13, 2010

Waratah’s Secret Scores Victory in 2010 AJ Scahill Stakes

On Saturday the highlight event at Ascot Racecourse was the $125,000 Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes (1400m) where David Harrison’s improving four-year-old Waratah’s Secret claimed a sensational all-the-way victory ahead of a strong field of competitors.

Oratorio gelding Waratah’s Secret was coming off a number of consistent runs at the track including their last start fourth to Hadabeclorka in the Winterbottom Stakes, but on Saturday they turned the table and claimed a well-earned win.

Jumping from barrier nine with Paul Harvey in the mount, Waratah’s Secret ($2.60 favourite) hit the front early and went on to score an emphatic victory finishing two and a quarter lengths ahead of Hadabeclorka ($7) with the Neville Parnham-trained outsider Elliotto ($26) a brave third just a further quarter length back.

The AJ Scahill Stakes win was the eighth victory from 14 starts for Waratah’s Secret who has now won nearly $530,000 in career prize money for their connections.

Punters that had their Ascot bets down at Luxbet enjoyed the best odds and biggest payouts on Saturday, so join the winners by signing up with Luxbet today and get a free bet up to $400 just by quoting the code word BONUS400!

2010 AJ Scahill Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Margin SP
1 WARATAH’S SECRET Paul Harvey David Harrison 1:21.82 $2.60F
2 HADABECLORKA William Pike Brent Larsson 2 1/4 L $7
3 ELLIOTTO Brad Parnham Neville Parnham 2 1/2 L $26
4 PROART Peter Hall Adam Durrant 3 L $15
5 MARASCO Daniel Staeck Fred Kersley 3 3/4 L $6.50
6 KING KOOL KAT Jason Whiting Ian Glading 4 L $5
7 TARZI Steven Parnham Neville Parnham 6 L $21
8 NOBLE STEED Craig Staples Dixie Solly 7 3/4 L $101
9 MEGATIC Patrick Carbery Albie Beckett 7 3/4 L $7.50
10 KASBIAN Shaun O’Donnell Darren McAuliffe 10 L $14

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field