Ranger Wins 2010 W.A. St. Leger Setting New Race Record

December 13, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

Ranger Wins 2010 W.A. St. Leger Setting New Race Record

It was a day for the favourites at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, starting with the $100,000 Listed W.A. St. Leger (2100m) the first of three black-type features at the Perth Summer Racing Carnival meeting won by odds-on favourite Ranger in record time.

The Grant Williams-trained Ranger went out as the $1.90 top elect in the 2010 W.A. St. Leger, the classy Testa Rossa four-year-old coasting to victory a week after running an eye-catching fifth to Playing God in the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic.

In a brilliant display, Ranger burst from barrier three with in-form hoop William Pike aboard and after settling nicely just off the pace, the duo moved to the front with 800m to go and raced away to win the St. Leger in a record breaking time of 2:11.51.

Ranger was able to finish three quarters of a length ahead of the Lou Luciani-trained Amelias Dancer ($14), with Joe Byrne’s consistent Flying Spur three-year-old Hoegaarden ($5.50) finishing off the trifecta a further length away in third.

Saturday’s W.A. St. Leger success was Ranger’s third win from 11 career starts, the gelding now having won $175,350 in prize money.

Williams will give Ranger one more start before heading to the $400,000 Group 2 Perth Cup (2400m) on New Year’s Day.

The next feature at Ascot will take place this Saturday, December 18, when the Group 2 CB Cox Stakes (2100m) lights up the track.

The 2010 CB Cox Stakes final field is due to be released by Perth Racing late this afternoon so stay tuned to Races.com.au to view the list of hopeful horses as well as the comprehensive form and betting guide.

In the meantime, get ready for the action by opening an account with Australia’s premier online bookmaker Luxbet and be instantly rewarded with a free bet up to $400 simply by entering our exclusive promo code BONUS400 when you sign up and deposit!

2010 W.A. St. Leger Finishing Order & Results

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Margin SP
1 RANGER William Pike Grant Williams 2:11.51 $1.90F
2 AMELIAS DANCER Jason Whiting Lou Luciani 3/4 $14
3 HOEGAARDEN Jarrad Noske Joe Byrne 1 3/4 $5.50
4 MIGHTY ROSSA Daniel Staeck Michael Grant 1 3/4 $3.30
5 JOESREADY Damian Lane Hec McLaren 3 1/4 $10
6 SINGLE WARRIOR Jason Brown Tony Noonan 10 1/4 $61
7 SIR MONTGOMERY Kyra Yuill Greg Carige 11 1/2 $71
8 LIGHT THE SKIES Jessica Hill Damian Winn 16 3/4 $71

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field