2010 Christmas Cup Won by Bellagio Wynn – Rosehill Race Results

At Rosehill Gardens Racecourse on Saturday the Chris Waller-trained Bellagio Wynn scored an upset victory in the feature race of the day, running away to win the $100,000 Listed Christmas Cup (2400m).

After finishing an unlucky seventh in the Canberra Cup last start, seven-year-old Dehere gelding Bellagio Wynn stepped it up on Saturday beating home the favourites in the 2010 Christmas Cup.

Ridden by champion hoop Glyn Schofield, Bellagio Wynn ($9) was able to move up through a gap on the home straight and finish a length and a quarter in front of Gai Waterhouse’s Rock Kingdom ($6.50), with $41 roughie Jungle Rocket a further length back for third.

The disappointment of the day was hot favourite Strike One ($1.90) the more fancied stable-mate of Bellagio Wynn over racing early to take the lead before failing to finish off and coming in seventh nearly seven lengths back from the winner.

Bellagio Wynn has now won nine of their 51 career starts earning close to $570,000 in prize money, their Christmas Cup success making it 19 straight Saturday meetings where local trainer Waller has produced a winner.

Next on the card for Bellagio Wynn after their eye-catching win on Saturday will be the Group 3 Summer Cup (2400m) at Randwick Racecourse on Boxing Day, December 26, where they will come head-to-head with stable-mate Beijing Boy.

The summer racing action in Sydney continues this Saturday, December 18, at Randwick with the Group 2 Villiers Stakes (1600m).

Make sure you give yourself the best chance of success by placing your bets online through Luxbet where Aussie punters have access to better odds every day!

2010 Christmas Cup Finishing Order

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Margin SP
1 BELLAGIO WYNN Glyn Schofield Chris Waller $9
2 ROCK KINGDOM Corey Brown Gai Waterhouse 1.3 $6.50
3 JUNGLE ROCKET (NZ) Jon Grisedale Gregory McFarlane 2.3 $41
4 ALEXANDER OF HALES (USA) Kerrin McEvoy Chris Waller 2.4 $9
5 SPECHENKA Tim Clark Ben Ahrens 4 $5
6 ZAMPARA Rodd Quinn Matthew Smith 4.9 $41
7 STRIKE ONE (GB) Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 6.9 $1.90F
8 TOP SPOT (NZ) Grant Buckley Bob Thomsen 11.2 $41
9 CONISTON BLUEBIRD Tommy Berry Bede Murray 11.6 $31