Macknuckle Wins 2010 Canberra Cup Beating Rock Kingdom

November 29, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Macknuckle Wins 2010 Canberra Cup Beating Rock Kingdom

On Sunday November 28, the Bernie Howlett-trained Mackunckle was heavily backed by the punters into the favourite for the $200,000 Listed Canberra Cup (2010m) and the defending champion rewarded their supporters with an historic win.

In a thrilling 2010 Canberra Cup result, Moon Rocket six-year-old Macknuckle ($4.60) and jockey Dwayne Dunn held off a gallant late charge by the Gai Waterhouse-trained Rock Kingdom ($8), who had lead for nearly the entire race, to win by a half-head with Fast Future ($9) a neck further back for third.

It was the first time in 24 years that a horse won back-to-back Canberra Cups, Mackunckle now a winner of 10 of his 34 career starts for nearly $620,000 in prize money.

Dunn settled Macknuckle just off the speed on Sunday, before the gelding pulled out a brilliant late burst mid-way down the home straight, hitting the lead with 200m to go and hanging on to win much to the joy of the crowd.

Earlier, He’s An Angel was scratched at the barriers after jumping sideways and dislodging jockey Brendan Ward and seconds into the race Melbourne Cup winning jockey Michael Rodd fell from his mount Rockpecker.

Connections including trainer Howlett will now target the Listed Christmas Cup (2400m) at Rosehill on December 11 followed by the Group 3 Summer Cup (2400m) at Randwick the following week, December 19, with Macknuckle.

The best summer racing action this weekend is in Perth with Ascot home to the $500,000 Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) and for the longest odds and biggest payouts for the feature, we highly recommend Luxbet!

2010 Canberra Cup Results & Finishing Order

Place Horse Trainer Jockey SP Margin
1 MACKNUCKLE Bernie Howlett Dwayne Dunn $4.60F
2 ROCK KINGDOM Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller $8 0.2
3 FAST FUTURE (NZ) Russell Cameron Daniel Ganderton $9 0.4
4 LET THEM HAVE IT Kevin Moses Tommy Berry $8 2.5
5 JIMMY FORTUNES Michael Clout Brenton Avdulla $17 3.6
6 RED BUTTONS Michael Kent Glen Boss $5.50 6
7 BELLAGIO WYNN Chris Waller Glyn Schofield $12 6.2
8 WITH ICE Tony Sergi Nathan Berry $14 6.6
9 DANCING TIME Gratz Vella Peter Wells $81 8.7
10 WYORA David Blundell Mathew Cahill $51 9.4
11 CONISTON BLUEBIRD Bede Murray Rod Quinn $14 10.5
12 BACK TO ZERO Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones Jason Collins $41 12.3
13 RIVER RONALD Peter Tiyce Natalie Lye $61 12.9
14 INADESERT Steven O’Brien Grant Buckley $51 14
Lost Rider ROCKPECKER Ken Fythe Micheal Rodd $12

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field