My Bentley to Target 2011 Melbourne Cup after Ballarat Cup Win

The Michael Kent-trained My Bentley could target the 2011 Melbourne Cup next spring racing carnival after the six-year-old coasted to victory in the $130,000 Listed Ballarat Cup (2200m) on Sunday.

My Bentley ($5.50) and jockey Brad Rawiller proved too good for their rivals, scoring victory over a length ahead of Peter Snowden’s Kidnapped ($8.50) while long-priced outsider Allanthus ($26) was a fast finishing third.

Favourite Red Colossus ($4.60) failed to make an impression finishing five and a half lengths back from the winner in equal seventh place with Davcon.

Sunday was Rawiller’s third country cup victory this season after riding Kent’s Red Ransom gelding Red Buttons to victory in both the Moe Cup and the Kenyon Cup.

I Conquer gelding My Bentley, owned by OTI Syndicate including principal partners Simon O’Donnell and Terry Henderson, has now won five of their 20 career starts earning $192,858 in prize money.

Next on the card for My Bentley are the riches of the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival including the Group 3 Hobart Cup (2200m) on February 13 and the Launceston Cup (2400m).

Cranbourne-based trainer Kent has mentioned the Group 2 Adelaide Cup (3200m) in March as a springboard for My Bentley on way to the 2011 Melbourne Cup at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

While black-type racing has finished up in Victoria for the season, the Ballarat Cup meeting marking the official close of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the summer season is just heating up in Perth with the Ascot Carnival now in full swing.

The $750,000 Group 2 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) is the next highlight this Saturday so get the best odds on the feature sprint showdown at Luxbet now!

2010 Ballarat Cup Finishing Order & Results

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Margin (L) SP
1 MY BENTLEY Brad Rawiller Michael Kent $5.50
2 KIDNAPPED Mark Zahra Peter Snowden 1.3 $8.50
3 ALLANTHUS Lisa Cropp Brian Jenkins 1.4 $26
4 GOTTA KEEP COOL Luke Nolen Darren Weir 2.9 $31
5 BOURBONSTREETBLUES Dean Yendall Daryl Cannon 4.1 $51
6 PLAYWRIGHT Matt Pumpa Steve Richards 4.5 $9
7 DAVCON Ben Melham Heath Conners 5.5 $16
7 RED COLOSSUS Craig Williams Greg Eurell 5.5 $4.60F
9 RIGHT FONG Jarrod Fry David Balfour 7.8 $12
10 BRAD STAR Glen Boss Vincent Bradley 8.0 $21
11 THE HOMBRE Michael Walker John Bary 8.1 $5
12 WINDARRA PLACE Danny Nikolic T & K O’Sullivan 8.2 $18
13 PICALERO Michelle Payne Barbara Marshman 10.2 $26
14 GOLDEN CHARMER Dean Holland Dan O’Sullivan 11.4 $101
15 PERGOLA Craig Newitt C & C Alderson 13.2 $21