Zipping wins 4th Sandown Classic – Sandown Race 7 Results

November 13, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Zipping wins 4th Sandown Classic – Sandown Race 7 Results

Zipping has won the 2010 Sandown Classic at Betfair Park, making it four straight wins of the 2,400m staying race for the Lloyd Williams-owned veteran galloper.

While the field was originally made up of eight quality stayers, only five horses lined up for the jump at the Sandown Hillside Racetrack after it was downgraded to a Heavy 9. Peter Snowden’s Kidnapped, Bart Cummings’ Faint Perfume and the John Hawkes trained Rainbow Styling were all scratched from the Group 2 field.

Jockey Nick Hall moved Zipping to the lead after jumping from barrier 1. About half way through the race Hall allowed Danny Nikolic on board Exceptionally to move up and take the lead. Rounding the final corner into the home straight Exceptionally held the lead, but over the last 400m Zipping kicked into top gear and powered away to win by 2 lengths and make history. Exceptionally held onto second place from a strong finishing Manighar.

The fourth straight win in the $350,000 Sandown Classic means that Zipping, trained by Robert Hickmott, joins the ranks of Manikato, Tie The Knot and Lord as the only horses in history to win the same group race in four or more consecutive years.

Zipping was the firm favourite to take out the race today, and not just for sentimental reasons. 9-year-old Zipping has been in career best form this spring carnival with a win in the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m), second in the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) and fourth in the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m).

Owner Lloyd Williams’ son, Nick Williams said, “He is a freak of nature, he is so tough, and there are not many like him”

“He’ll choose to retire. He’s done that much for us, that he can choose whether he wants to race or not,” he said.

Zipping will return for the 2011 Autumn Racing Carnival to defend his 2010 Australian Cup win, while his stable has not ruled out another Spring campaign as a 10-year-old and even a shot at a fifth straight Sandown Classic.

2010 Sandown Classic Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 1 ZIPPING(1) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 59.0 2-39.49
2nd 8 EXCEPTIONALLY(4) Danny Nikolic Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 56.0 2.0L
3rd 3 MANIGHAR(5) Damien Oliver Luca Cumani 59.0 2.1L
4th 2 GINGA DUDE(3) Michael Walker Graeme Boyd 59.0 2.3L
5th 5 LA ROCKET(2) Nash Rawiller Dale Sutton 59.0 27.3L
Src 4 RAINBOW STYLING Luke Nolen Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
Src 6 KIDNAPPED Kerrin McEvoy Peter Snowden
Src 7 FAINT PERFUME Michael Rodd Bart Cummings

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field