2010 Eclipse Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Betting Preview

November 11, 2010

2010 Eclipse Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Betting Preview

On Saturday Betfair Park Sandown Hillside will host the final Melbourne Spring Carnival meeting, the 2010 Sandown Classic Day featuring a bumper nine-race programme including the $125,000 Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m).

The 2010 Eclipse Stakes has attracted a final field of 15 gallopers including red hot favourite Niblick.

Lloyd Williams’ super consistent four-year-old Niblick has won four of their six race starts including the La Vie En Rose at Flemington on Crown Oaks Day, which has seen them installed at the top of the betting markets at Luxbet.

Another early favourite is the Danny O’Brien-trained Eraset.

The Reset four-year-old scored a classy win in the Sale Cup over the mile two starts back and boasts an impressive record of six wins from 12 starts, but has suffered a blow with a wide barrier 14 draw for Saturday.

Another runner sure to start at the top of the Eclipse Stakes odds for Saturday is John Thompson’s consistent Encosta De Lago six-year-old Tagus coming off a win in the Bundaberg Distilling Stakes on Melbourne Cup Day.

Tagus, however, has also drawn wide with barrier 11 for Saturday and will be ridden by Dwayne Dunn.

Other notable runners in the Eclipse Stakes this year include last start winner of a mares’ handicap at Flemington Influential Miss drawn in barrier four and the Matt Laurie-trained The Big Steel.

The 2010 Betfair Eclipse Stakes is scheduled as Race 8 at Sandown on Saturday, due to jump at 4:50pm (AEDST), one race after the highlight event of the day – the $350,000 Group 2 Sandown Classic (2400m).

Ensure you get the best odds on all your spring race betting by opening an account with Australia’s leading online bookmaker Luxbet, and if you use the code EXTRA400 when you join Luxbet will instantly double your initial deposit up to $400 as a Free Bet!

2010 Eclipse Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Weights

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight (kg)
1 TAGUS John P Thompson Dwayne Dunn 11 57
2 SADALBARI Michael Kent 10 56.5
3 HANKS Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 3 55.5
4 PACINO Clinton McDonald Les Beer 1 55
5 FAST FUTURE (NZ) Russell Cameron Michael Rodd 5 54.5
6 ERASET Danny O’Brien James Winks 14 54.5
7 ABSOLUTE FAITH John McArdle Chris Symons 13 54.5
8 DAVCON Heath Conners Ben Melham 12 54.5
9 INFLUENTIAL MISS Pat Carey Steven King 4 54.5
10 NIBLICK Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 9 54.5
11 TOKEN OF HONOUR David Hayes Craig Williams 7 54.5
12 THE BIG STEEL Matt Laurie 6 54.5
13 OUR TIGRESS Michael Moroney 2 54.5
14 WORK THE ROOM Colin Little Glen Boss 8 54.5
15 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney 15 54.5

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field