2010 W.A. Guineas Final Field & Barrier Draw

The next major race at the Perth Summer Racing Carnival will take place at Ascot Racecourse this Saturday with the 2010 W.A. Guineas set to light up the track.

The $250,000 Group 2 W.A. Guineas (1600m) has drawn a final field of 15 three-year-old gallopers including Brisbane raider Hour Of Peril.

The John P Thompson-trained gelding has been in career best form in Queensland, breaking through with their maiden win at Doomben on October 6 before making it three straight victories earning Hour Of Peril a chance at Group 2 glory on Saturday.

Local stars set to contest the Guineas this weekend include last-start winner of the Listed Fairetha Stakes Hoegaarden, runner-up Playing God and third placegetter Galileo colt View The Stars, all three drawn wide in barriers nine, 12 and 10 respectively.

Other notable W.A. Guineas hopefuls include WATC Sires Produce Stakes winner Motion Pictures drawn ideally in barrier two, Burgess Queen Stakes’ runner-up All Friared Up and Grant Williams’ emerging More Than Ready filly Dreamaway who won on debut last-start.

The 2010 Sky Racing W.A. Guineas is scheduled as Race 8 at Ascot on Saturday and is accompanied by eight other races including the Group 3 R.J. Peters Stakes (15000m) and the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m).

Get in on the action of the Western Australian summer carnival today by signing up with Australia’s premier online bookmaker Luxbet to get the best odds on every horse in every race every day!

2010 W.A. Guineas Final Field & Barrier Draw

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight (kg)
1 HOUR OF PERIL John P Thompson William Pike 8 56
2 HOEGAARDEN Joe Byrne Jarrad Noske (a) 9 56
3 PLAYING GOD Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 12 56
4 VIEW THE STARS Paul Jordan Brad Parnham 10 56
5 JOESREADY Hec McLaren 11 56
6 PAGO ROCK Frank Maynard 3 56
7 CAVALLO PAZZO Ted Martinovich Peter Knuckey 5 56
8 AYLESFORD Neville Parnham 4 56
9 THE DEVELOPER (NZ) Chris Gangemi Craig Staples 13 56
10 MOTION PICTURES Dave Casey Troy Turner 2 54
11 MISS CONDITION Jim P Taylor Shaun O’Donnell 15 54
12 ALL FRIARED UP Stan Bates Jason Whiting 6 54
13 LAURADANE Daniel Pearce Daniel Staeck 1 54
14 BELLA CONTESSA Phil Duggan Chloe Chatfield 14 54
15 DREAMAWAY Grant Williams Alan Kennedy 7 54