Thankgodyou’rehere Wins 2010 Hawkesbury Gold Cup

In a thrilling blanket finish Patrick and Wayne Webster’s top gelding Thankgodyou’rehere claimed a devastatingly close victory in the 2010 Hawkesbury Gold Cup this afternoon.

Run as Race 7 at Hawkesbury, the $125,000 Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup (1600m) resulted in one of the narrowest wins in the race’s history.

It was a brilliant winning ride from jockey Rod Quinn who allowed Thankgodyou’rehere to sit back, wait and then pounce right on the line.

After the field spread across the track down the straight, $2.30 equal favourite Thankgodyou’rehere narrowly held on to beat home the John O’Shea-trained Glintz ($2.30EF) by a half-neck and Kimillsy ($18) by a nose, the second and third places decided in a photo finish.

Thankgodyou’rehere has now won seven of their 11 career starts, today’s winnings boosting their total earnings to $250,250 in prize money.

See below for the full Hawkesbury Gold Cup finishing order.

The next major meeting of the spring will take place at Flemington this Saturday as Emirates Stakes Day finishes off the Melbourne Cup Carnival for another year.

Right now premier online bookmaker Luxbet already have lucrative odds available on the Group 1 features at the meeting, so sign up today to get in on the action!

2010 Hawkesbury Gold Cup Results & Finishing Order

Place Horse SP Jockey Trainer
1 THANKGODYOU’REHERE $2.30EF Rod Quinn Patrick & Wayne Webster
2 GLINTZ (NZ) $2.30EF Christian Reith John O’Shea
3 KIMILLSY $18.00 Jay Ford Kim Waugh
4 BELLAGIO WYNN $31.00 Tim Clark Chris Waller
5 WITH ICE $26.00 Nathan Berry Tony Sergi
6 KEEPIN’ THE DREAM (NZ) $31.00 Daniel Ganderton Jim & Greg Lee
7 JOKU $11.00 Peter Robl Gai Waterhouse
8 TWO TOWERS $151.00 Grant Buckley Wanda Ings
9 SPINNEY $31.00 Joshua Parr Peter Snowden
SCR MENTALITY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes