Melbourne Cup Day 2010 Tips

November 2, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Melbourne Cup Day 2010 Tips

While the Melbourne Cup is the only Group race at Flemington today, thousands of punters still bet on the other races. Read on to get our best Melbourne Cup Day 2010 tips on all the races.

Race 1 is the 1000 metre AGL Solar Powered Stakes, starting at 10:20AM AEDST. The smart bet here is to save your money for another race, as this is a two year old run where you will need an encyclopedic knowledge of horse breeding to have a chance of making even a slightly informed pick.

Race 2 is the 1700 metre Schiavello Plate, starting at 11:00AM AEDST. Aloha and Vintedge could be good in a quinella, with Royal Commands and Belscenica worth considering for places in your exotics.

Race 3 is the 2800 metre Lavazza Long Black, starting at 11:45AM AEDST. Our pick for this race is to cover Miles Above, Kerdem, Im Imposing and Irazu, while avoiding Saddlers Story, Zauberin, Doosra Diamond, Buffett, and Family Bliss.

Race 4 is the 1400 metre Herald Sun Stakes, starting at 12:30PM AEDST. There are a few we have faith in for this run, including Montana Flyer, Venus World, Dollops, Devils Arcade, Orbiting Bell, and Kryptelon.

Race 5 is the 1000 metre Schweppes Tonic 1000, starting at 1:15PM AEDST. Our picks in this sprint are Sleepers, Trudeau and Spurcific.

Race 6 is the 1400 metre Lexus Hybrid Plate, starting at 2:00PM AEDST and immediately preceding the 2010 Melbourne Cup. We think that Alotta Spur, Shiny and New, and Dance Of The Ocean look good in this one.

Race 7 is the 2010 Melbourne Cup itself at 3:00PM AEDST, the most important 3200 metre run in Australia – The Race That Stops A Nation. We don’t doubt that So You Think looks a fantastic chance to win, but if he can’t make the two miles we reckon Descarado, Harris Tweed, Monaco Consul, Linton and Shoot Out are all capable of winning.

Race 8 is the 1800 metre Bundaberg Distilling Company Stakes, starting at 3:50PM AEDST. We think the likely chances are Our Lukas, Hidden Wonder, Tagus, Rock Kingdom and Firebolt.

Race 9 is the 1200 metre MSS Security Sprint, starting at 4:35PM AEDST. Our feeling for this race is The Handsome One for first, with Indian Diamond and Produced for places.

Race 10 is the TAB Celebrating 50 Years HCP0, starting at 5:15PM AEDST and bringing Melbourne Cup Day 2010 to a close. Our feeling for this run is that the places will go to a mix of Testapal, Overtake, Into The Sun, and Balavan.

If you would like to bet on any of the Melbourne Cup Day 2010 races, Luxbet is the online bookie for you. New players can claim a free bonus bet worth up to $400 on their first deposit, using the promo code ‘EXTRA400’.

If that isn’t enough, the Luxbet High Roller Bonus offers a $1,000 free bet when you deposit at least $2,000 and use the promo code ‘EXTRA1000’.

Finally, those who can only afford a small bet can claim the Luxbet Small Punter Bonus to get a $40 free bet for a $10 and using the promo code ‘RACES40’. Join Luxbet now to place your Melbourne Cup Day 2010 bets from the convenience of your desk – skip the TAB lines!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field