Melbourne Cup 2010 Field & Jockey Changes

With a little under two hours left until the 2010 Melbourne Cup start time, the team report the Melbourne Cup field changes that could affect the Melbourne Cup odds and betting.

After the last update regarding the scratching of Bauer and the subsequent Melbourne Cup barrier moves for the remaining 23 runners in Race 7 at Flemington today, another alteration to the Melbourne Cup field has occurred.

Melbourne Cup winning jockey Blake Shinn has been injured and withdrawn as the rider for the Bart Cummings-trained Precedence.

Zabeel five-year-old Precedence is now due to be ridden by James Wink in the 150th Melbourne Cup today.

The Melbourne Cup field is still lead by clear favourite So You Think paying $3 at Luxbet.

Cummingsā€™ top chance to win his record 13th Melbourne Cup today, So You Think has moved into barrier two for the run.

This could prove a little too close to the rails and if So You Think is caught in the choppy inside ground, the chance of an upset in the Melbourne Cup result today increases.

So have a look at the Melbourne Cup field and barrier draw below to assess the chances of the other Melbourne Cup runners today, drawn a little further off the rails.

Barriers 7 ā€“ 15 have proved successful in recent Melbourne Cups bringing into contention the likes of Americain (barrier 11) and Harris Tweed (barrier 12), both runners also well suited to the current Flemington track conditions.

So head to Luxbet now to view the odds on all the runners in the Melbourne Cup field.

If you are new to sign up, deposit a minimum of $25 and use the exclusive bonus code EXTRA400 you can still cash in on the Luxbet double deposit bonus up to $400!

2010 Melbourne Cup Field & Jockeys

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier
1 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 23
2 CAMPANOLOGIST (USA) Saeed Bin Suroor Kerrin McEvoy 18
3 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings Steven Arnold 2
4 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 17
5 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE (GB) William J Knight Glen Boss 8
6 MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho Darren Beadman 4
7 SHOOT OUT John Wallace Corey Brown 16
8 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre Gerald Mosse 11
9 TOKAI TRICK (JPN) Kenji Nonaka Shinji Fujita 3
10 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan Steven King 20
11 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 1
12 HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker Brad Rawiller 12
13 MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani Damien Oliver 19
14 MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien Vlad Duric 17
15 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 13
16 PROFOUND BEAUTY (IRE) Dermot K Weld Patrick Smullen 21
17 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Michael Walker 6
18 BAUER (IRE) Luca Cumani Chris Munce
19 HOLBERG (UAE) Saeed Bin Suroor Frankie Dettori 9
20 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings James Winks 14
21 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent Mark Du Plessis 7
22 LINTON Robert Hickmott Brett Prebble 22
23 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 10
24 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Luke Nolen 5