Jersey Lily Wins The Herald Sun Stakes On 2010 Melbourne Cup Day

Jersey Lily stormed home on the straight to win the Herald Sun Stakes dominantly this Melbourne Cup Day.

Montana Flyer kept up a murderous pace to begin the race and held onto the front for a while. This made it impossible to speed up on the choppy ground near the inside rail, however, and he faded quickly on the final turn as the middle of the field ran ahead and Jersey Lily took them home in first.

This is Jersey Lily’s first win in 6 starts, and her first win at 1400 metres. It is hardly surprising given her prior record in the wet, howeber, as she has proven capable of placing on slow and heavy tracks.

Soon after in second place was Happy Hippy, while the well-liked Valentine Miss managed to take third. This was an especially good performance for Happy Hippy, who put in her best performance in a long time.

To keep betting on great racing action during 2010 Melbourne Cup Day, join Luxbet now! New players can choose a bonus to suit them, such as a free bonus bet of up to $400 when you use the promo code ‘EXTRA400’ on first deposit.

Herald Sun Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 13 JERSEY LILY(12) Craig Williams Les Bridge 53.0 1-23.43
2nd 7 HAPPY HIPPY(7) Craig Newitt John P Thompson 55.0 1.3L
3rd 4 VALENTINE MISS(5) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 55.0 3.0L
4th 15 DEVILS ARCADE(9) Corey Brown Gai Waterhouse 53.0 3.8L
5th 19 VENUS WORLD(14) Mark Du Plessis Brian Jenkins 53.0 4.5L
6th 8 FLYING TESSIE(10) Ben Melham Matthew Williams 55.0 4.8L
7th 17 TAKE ALL OF ME(3) Steven King Bruce & Jean Purcell 53.5 5.6L
8th 3 RETURNTOSENDER(13) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 56.0 6.3L
9th 14 PAGAN PRINCESS(8) Dwayne Dunn Grahame Begg 53.0 6.4L
10th 11 SALINAS(1) Gerald Mosse Peter G Moody 54.0 6.5L
11th 9 RED FLAIR(2) Chris Symons Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 54.0 7.3L
12th 6 LITTLE SURFER GIRL(11) Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 55.0 7.6L
13th 2 KRYPTELON(6) Paul Hammersley David Kelly 56.0 9.3L
14th 1 MONTANA FLYER(4) Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 56.0 9.5L
Src 5 DOLLOPS Brad Rawiller Luke Oliver
Src 10 DYSPHONIA Mark Zahra Peter Snowden
Src 12 ACQUIRED Chris Munce Robert Heathcote
Src 16 ORBITING BELLE Nicholas Hall Mick Price
Src 18 PINS ON ICE Dwayne Dunn Danny O’Brien
Src 20 PRINCESS NARINE Glen Boss Mick Price