2010 Melbourne Cup Finishing Order

The 2010 Melbourne Cup has been run and decided at Flemington today, Americain the winner and number one in the finishing order for the $6 million handicap feature.

First over the line and the official Melbourne Cup winner for the 150th edition of the ‘race that stops the nation’ was six-year-old Dynaformer entire Americain.

Americain took home the lucrative $3.5 million Melbourne Cup first prize for his connections, the Australian-owned and French-trained runner emerging as the best stayer on the day.

Second in the Melbourne Cup finishing order and one of the biggest Melbourne Cup performances in many years came from Maluckyday.

The Hawkes-trained lightweight of the Melbourne Cup field hit a flat spot in the final 100m, but was still able to finish a gallant second to Americain in his first Group 1 race.

Already word is to watch this emerging stayer to win the Melbourne Cup next year!

Third placegetter in the Melbourne Cup 2010 was raging favourite So You Think.

Despite being beaten by over three lengths, the Bart Cummings-trained four-year-old is still one of the most impressive racehorses Australia has seen adding a Melbourne Cup place to his impressive list of accolades.

Other notable Melbourne Cup finishing order results include:

  • 4th Zipping finished fourth in the Melbourne Cup for a third year in a row, the nine-year-old five lengths away from the winner
  • 5th Harris Tweed kicked away well on the turn, finishing fifth in the Melbourne Cup for the second year in a row
  • 18th Defending Melbourne Cup champion Shocking got into trouble early from their wide barrier draw and could only manage a disappointing 18th beaten by 19 lengths

There were only 22 horses that officially finished the 2010 Melbourne Cup after Bauer was scratched early this morning and Caulfield Cup winner Descarado failed to finish.

To check how your Melbourne Cup bets paid and to get in on the last Melbourne Cup Day race, head to Luxbet now!

2010 Melbourne Cup Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 8 AMERICAIN(11) Gerald Mosse Alain de Royer Dupre 54.5 3-26.87
2nd 24 MALUCKYDAY(5) Luke Nolen Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 51.0 2.8L
3rd 3 SO YOU THINK(2) Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 56.0 3.3L
4th 4 ZIPPING(15) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 55.5 5.0L
5th 12 HARRIS TWEED(12) Brad Rawiller Murray & Bjorn Baker 54.0 5.5L
6th 19 HOLBERG(9) Frankie Dettori Saeed Bin Suroor 53.5 6.3L
7th 13 MANIGHAR(19) Damien Oliver Luca Cumani 54.0 9.3L
8th 20 PRECEDENCE(14) James Winks Bart Cummings 53.5 9.4L
9th 5 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE(8) Glen Boss William J Knight 55.0 10.9L
10th 6 MR MEDICI(4) Darren Beadman Peter Ho 55.0 12.1L
11th 23 ONCE WERE WILD(10) Jim Cassidy Gai Waterhouse 51.5 12.4L
12th 9 TOKAI TRICK(3) Shinji Fujita Kenji Nonaka 54.5 12.7L
13th 7 SHOOT OUT(16) Corey Brown John Wallace 55.0 13.5L
14th 15 MONACO CONSUL(13) Craig Williams Michael Moroney 54.0 15.2L
15th 14 MASTER O’REILLY(17) Vlad Duric Danny O’Brien 54.0 18.0L
16th 2 CAMPANOLOGIST(18) Kerrin McEvoy Saeed Bin Suroor 56.0 18.5L
17th 16 PROFOUND BEAUTY(21) Patrick Smullen Dermot K Weld 54.0 19.0L
18th 1 SHOCKING(23) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 57.0 19.1L
19th 21 RED RULER(7) Mark Du Plessis John Sargent 53.5 20.1L
20th 10 BUCCELLATI(20) Steven King Tony Noonan 54.0 23.1L
21st 22 LINTON(22) Brett Prebble Robert Hickmott 52.0 35.1L
22nd 17 ZAVITE(6) Michael Walker Anthony Cummings 54.0 47.1L
FF 11 DESCARADO(1) Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 54.0
Src 18 BAUER Chris Munce Luca Cumani