2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw & Winning Melbourne Cup Barrier Facts

November 1, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw & Winning Melbourne Cup Barrier Facts

The 2010 Melbourne Cup barrier draw took place live from Flemington Racecourse on Saturday following the Victoria Derby Day programme and was reported first here at Races.com.au.

The barriers each runner in the 24-horse Melbourne Cup field drew had a strong impact on the betting markets for the $6 million handicap feature, due to run as Flemington Race 7 at 3:00pm (AEDST) tomorrow.

The three big winners after the Melbourne Cup 2010 barrier draw were Caulfield Cup winner Descarado, the Luca Cumani-trained Bauer and clear favourite to win So You Think, drawn in barriers one, two and three respectively.

  • The last Melbourne Cup winner to start from Barrier 1 was Kingston Rule (1990)
  • The last Melbourne Cup winner to start from Barrier 2 was Might And Power (1997)
  • Barrier 3 has produced two Melbourne Cup winners in the past 20 years with Media Puzzle (2002) and Saintly (1996)

However, drawing wider in the Melbourne Cup has proved more successful for runners than getting stuck on the inside, especially considering the Slow to Heavy track conditions expected at Flemington tomorrow.

Last year Shocking won the 2009 Melbourne Cup from a wide barrier 21 draw, and the talented Street Cry five-year-old has another tough test tomorrow after drawing the far outside gate 24.

  • Barrier 21 has in fact produced three Melbourne Cup winners since 1995 with Doriemus (1995) and Rogan Josh (1999) also winning from this wider draw.

Buccellati will jump from barrier 21 in the 2010 Melbourne Cup, so for a ‘just-in-case’ bet put a few dollars down on this $301 long shot!

  • Barrier 18 has never produced a Melbourne Cup winner, so this year’s barrier 18 runner Master O’Reilly definitely has history against them.

Below is the full 2010 Melbourne Cup field and barrier draw.

If you want to get the best Melbourne Cup betting value for the big race tomorrow, make sure you open an account with Luxbet.

Not only are they a Tabcorp-owned and trusted online bookmaker, they are also offering a generous Double Deposit $400 Bonus for new customers that sign up, deposit between $25 and $200 and quote the unique codeword EXTRA400!

2010 Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier
1 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 24
2 CAMPANOLOGIST (USA) Saeed Bin Suroor Kerrin McEvoy 19
3 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings Steven Arnold 3
4 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 16
5 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE (GB) William J Knight Glen Boss 9
6 MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho Darren Beadman 5
7 SHOOT OUT John Wallace Corey Brown 17
8 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre Gerald Mosse 12
9 TOKAI TRICK (JPN) Kenji Nonaka Shinji Fujita 4
10 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan Steven King 21
11 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 1
12 HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker Brad Rawiller 13
13 MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani Damien Oliver 20
14 MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien Vlad Duric 18
15 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 14
16 PROFOUND BEAUTY (IRE) Dermot K Weld Patrick Smullen 22
17 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Michael Walker 7
18 BAUER (IRE) Luca Cumani Chris Munce 2
19 HOLBERG (UAE) Saeed Bin Suroor Frankie Dettori 10
20 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings Blake Shinn 15
21 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent Mark Du Plessis 8
22 LINTON Robert Hickmott Brett Prebble 23
23 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 11
24 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Luke Nolen 6

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field