Final Victoria Derby Day Race 9 Won by Poor Judge – AAMI Business Insurance Stakes Results

October 30, 2010

Final Victoria Derby Day Race 9 Won by Poor Judge – AAMI Business Insurance Stakes Results

The final race at Flemington’s Victoria Derby Day, the $250,000 Group 3 AAMI Business Insurance Stakes (1400m), has been won by Queensland galloper Poor Judge.

The Norm Hilton-trained Royal Academy gelding came down to Melbourne on the back of impressive form in Brisbane and was able to thrive on the rain-affected ground to win the Chatham Stakes.

Prince Braeman was first out of gates and went to the lead early.

Jungle Ruler sat third on the outside, with McClintock settling second.

The punters’ favourite Demerit had a lovely ride early on sitting just on the back of the leaders in fourth.

Then on the home straight Poor Judge, ridden by Glen Boss, moved up nicely on the outside to challenge at the front.

Demerit followed up the middle and the two fought it out stride for stride over the final few hundred metres.

But it was Poor Judge the proved too good, pushing their ears back and pulling away to score victory over a gallant Demerit by around a length with Centennial Park adding value to the Trifecta finishing third.

That concludes the racing action of Derby Day for another year, however there is plenty more action at Flemington Racecourse to stay tuned for this afternoon.

The 2010 Melbourne Cup Field & Barrier Draw is due to be released within the hour and will publish the list of horses and their gates first so bookmark us now!

The updated Melbourne Cup odds will then open at Luxbet, so get ready to lock in your Melbourne Cup bets at a top price by opening an account with this leading, Tabcorp-owned bookmaker.

2010 AAMI Business Insurance Stakes Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 6 POOR JUDGE(11) Glen Boss Norm Hilton 56.0 1-25.73
2nd 10 DEMERIT(6) Mark Zahra Peter Snowden 54.0 0.3L
3rd 3 CENTENNIAL PARK(5) Corey Brown David Payne 56.0 1.6L
4th 2 ALBERT THE FAT(10) Steven Arnold Paul Messara 57.5 2.3L
5th 12 WE’RE GONNA ROCK(9) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 54.0 3.1L
6th 1 DAO DAO(4) Dwayne Dunn Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 58.0 3.6L
7th 4 JUNGLE RULER(12) Darren Gauci Peter White 56.0 3.7L
8th 8 ROCKPECKER(2) Craig Williams Ken Fythe 55.0 4.7L
9th 7 GOOD CONTROL(8) Luke Nolen Patrick Lee 55.0 7.2L
10th 11 PRINCE BRAEMAN(3) Tommy Berry Paul Perry 54.0 9.4L
11th 5 MCCLINTOCK(1) Glyn Schofield Mark de Montfort 56.0 17.4L
12th 9 WOORIM(7) James Winks Robert Heathcote 54.5 18.7L

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field