2010 Melbourne Cup Field

October 30, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2010 Melbourne Cup Field

The 2010 Melbourne Cup final field of 24 elite stayers has been released by Racing Victoria this afternoon after the final declarations were taken at 5pm (AEDST) on Victoria Derby Day.

The hot favourite to win the $6 million Melbourne Cup (2500m), running as Flemington Race 7 next Tuesday, is So You Think.

The Bart Cummings-trained superstar made it five Group wins successively today running an ideal Melbourne Cup final hit-up in the Mackinnon Stakes.

Leading the betting markets at bookmakers across the country, So You Think will wear the Number 1 saddlecloth in the 150th Melbourne Cup and will be ridden by regular jockey Steven Arnold.

Notable Defectors From the 2010 Melbourne Cup Field

  • Dariana
  • Faint Perfume
  • Jessicabeel
  • C’est La Guerre
  • Metal Bender
  • Alcopop

With a number of notable defectors including Metal Bender, suffering a three month ban after bleeding from both nostrils following their run in the Mackinnon, horses first thought to miss out on a Melbourne Cup run have now come into the line-up.

Melbourne Cup runner-up from 2008 Bauer, Bart Cummings’ Moonee Valley runner-up Precedence, Lloyd William’s grey Linton and Mourayan will all be there for the ‘race that stops the nation’.

Reigning Melbourne Cup champion Shocking is the second favourite in the Melbourne Cup odds, having put in a solid sixth place finish behind So You Think in the Mackinnon.

Today Maluckyday came from near last on the order of entry to win The Lexus Stakes, earning a ballot exemption and pushing them straight into the field sitting in number 24.

Connections made a late decision to pay the final declaration fee for Maluckyday to run in the Melbourne Cup.

Nine northern hemisphere runners are in the 2010 Melbourne Cup including Profound Beauty for Dermot Weld seeking his third Melbourne Cup success.

2010 Melbourne Cup Field

No. Horse Jockey
1 Shocking M Rodd
2 Campanologist K McEvoy
3 So You Think S Arnold
4 Zipping N Hall
5 Illustrious Blue G Boss
6 Mr Medici D Beadman
7 Shoot Out C Brown
8 Americain G Mosse
9 Tokai Trick S Fujito
10 Buccellati S King
11 Descarado N Rawiller
12 Harris Tweed B Rawiller
13 Manighar D Oliver
14 Master O’Reilly V Duric
15 Moncao Consul C Williams
16 Profound Beauty P Smullen
17 Zavite M Walker
18 Bauer C Munce
19 Holberg F Dettori
20 Precedence B Shinn
21 Red Ruler M Du Plessis
22 Linton B Prebble
23 Once Were Wild J Cassidy
24 Maluckyday L Nolen

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field