Melbourne Cup Winners on Film

The 2010 Melbourne Cup is now just days away with one elite stayer set to add their name to the list of turf champions that are the Melbourne Cup winners.

To help celebrated the 150th Melbourne Cup, here the team take a look back at some of the greatest Melbourne Cup winners in history that have been captured on video.

Relive Shocking’s upset win 12 months ago in the 2009 Melbourne Cup, the legendary Makybe Diva’s third successive Melbourne Cup victory in 2005 and the people’s horse Phar Lap’s beautiful 1930 Melbourne Cup win.

If watching these great Melbourne Cup winners has you wanting to get in on the action of this year’s Cup, ensure you lock in the best odds on your selections by visiting Luxbet!

2009 Melbourne Cup Winner – Shocking

In the 2009 Melbourne Cup, Mark Kavanagh’s soon-to-be star Shocking claimed an upset win after starting at $10. Aside from the winner it was an international result as Crime Scene ($41) and Mourilyan ($21) took out the placings.

Shocking is back to defend his title in the 2010 Melbourne Cup and is the current favourite to make it successive wins in this iconic race, so check out his odds at Luxbet today!

2005 Melbourne Cup Winner – Makybe Diva

In 2005 glamour mare Makybe Diva became the first horse in history to win three successive Melbourne Cups. What made her 2005 Melbourne Cup victory even more impressive was the fact she was backing up from a Cox Plate win.

This year Bart Cummings’ superstar So You Think is attempting to become the first horse since Makybe Diva to take out the Cox Plate / Melbourne Cup double. He’s completed the first leg and is high up the Melbourne Cup odds, so get behind him at a great price through Luxbet now!

1990 Melbourne Cup Winner – Kingston Rule

In 1990 the Bart Cummings-trained Kingston Rule set the Melbourne Cup record winning in a slashing 3:16.3.

The impeccably bred stayer completed the Moonee Valley / Melbourne Cup double that year, gave jockey Darren Beadman his first Melbourne Cup win and was the seventh Melbourne Cup winner for the Cups King Bart Cummings.

Kingston Rule’s incredible Melbourne Cup record still stands today.

1960 Melbourne Cup Winner – Hi Jinx

The 1960 Melbourne Cup was the 100th running of this iconic race, and it was an upset result for the Centenary Melbourne Cup as the 50/1 Hi Jinx claimed victory over Howsie.

Can another outsider cause an upset in the 2010 Melbourne Cup? With heavy rain forecast anything is possible so keep an eye on the wet track form of the roughies and lock them into your multiples at Luxbet!

1945 Melbourne Cup Winner – Rainbird

Rainbird became the first South Australian-trained mare to win the Melbourne Cup and after winning the 1945 Melbourne Cup over Silver Link and Leondard went on to run second in the VRC Oaks and win the Wakeful Stakes.

Will a mare win the 2010 Melbourne Cup? With the likes of Faint Perfume, Profound Beauty and Once Were Wild all in contention it could happen so check out their odds at Luxbet today!

1930 Melbourne Cup Winner – Phar Lap

In 1930 the people’s horse Phar Lap went down in history as the shortest-priced favourite to win the Melbourne Cup. A legend that will never be forgotten, Phar Lap’s Melbourne Cup success is one of the great moments in Australian racing history.

1896 Melbourne Cup Winner – Newhaven

The year 1896 will forever be remember by the racing world as it was the first ever Melbourne Cup to be recorded on film. Newhaven was a turf celebrity and started as the 4/1 favourite in the 1896 Melbourne Cup, going on to win by an emphatic six lengths over Bloodshot and The Skipper.

The 2010 Melbourne Cup will run at Flemington as Race 7 next Tuesday, November 2 at 3pm (AEDST).

Check out the full betting markets at Luxbet.