2010 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry

October 29, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2010 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry

The 2010 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry determines which of the 47 horses left in contention for the $6 million feature next Tuesday have secured a spot in the 24-horse Melbourne Cup field and which are on the brink of sneaking into the line-up.

Bart Cummings’ superstar So You Think currently leads the order of entry for the 150th Emirates Melbourne Cup after his second Cox Plate win last Saturday saw him leap to top spot on the Cup ballot.

The only other runner that has earned a Melbourne Cup ballot exemption along with So You Think, is Gai Waterhouse’s Caulfield Cup winner Descarado.

Noteworthy horses outside the top 24 in the order of entry for famous Flemington feature that need to win either the $1 million Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m) or the Group 3 The Lexus (2500m) at Victoria Derby Day tomorrow to earn an automatic pass into the Melbourne Cup field include:

  • Precedence (26th)
  • Mourayan (27th)
  • Herculian Prince (28th)
  • Alcopop (29th)
  • Linton (30th)
  • Moudre (38th)

The 2010 Melbourne Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw will be conducted after the closing race at Flemington tomorrow.

Stay tuned to Races.com.au throughout Derby Day tomorrow for exclusive betting tips, updates and race results in the lead up to the highly anticipated announcement of the Melbourne Cup field of acceptances.

Below is the current 2010 Melbourne Cup order of entry so you can see where on the ballot your favourites are.

Then to lock in a premium price on your Melbourne Cup selections, head over to Luxbet!

2010 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry

Ballot Horse Trainer
1 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings
2 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
3 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh
4 SHOOT OUT John Wallace
5 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller
6 CAMPANOLOGIST (USA) Saeed Bin Suroor
7 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott
8 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney
10 MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho
11 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings
12 ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE (GB) William J Knight
13 TOKAI TRICK (JPN) Kenji Nonaka
14 AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre
15 DARIANA Bart Cummings
16 ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse
17 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings
18 HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker
19 MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien
20 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott
21 MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani
22 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan
24 BAUER (IRE) Luca Cumani
25 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent
26 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings
27 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
28 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
29 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens
30 LINTON Robert Hickmott
31 HOLBERG (UAE) Saeed Bin Suroor
33 EASTERN ARIA (UAE) Mark Johnston
34 NO WINE NO SONG Kevin Moses
35 CAPECOVER (NZ) Patrick Payne
36 VALDEMORO Tony Vasil
37 ABOVE AVERAGE (IRE) Lee Freedman
38 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher
39 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan
40 MALUCKYDAY (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
41 CEDARBERG Pat Carey
42 MR CHARLIE (NZ) Peter G Moody
43 SEA GALLEON Colin & Cindy Alderson
44 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
45 MY BENTLEY (NZ) Michael Kent
46 STANSTILL (IRE) Michael Kent
47 GOTHIC CROWN Todd Balfour

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Price could have 3 runners in ...

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race Day Results: Kementari wins Hobartville Stakes

A great day’s racing at Rosehill today that will make the Golden Slipper...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field