2010 Melbourne Cup Final Field

October 26, 2010

2010 Melbourne Cup Final Field

The Races.com.au team have a look at what the 2010 Melbourne Cup final field would look like if the $6 million Flemington feature were to run today, in anticipation of the actual event on Tuesday November 2.

Below is the list of the Melbourne Cup entries that currently occupy the top 24 spots in the order of entry for the 150th Emirates Melbourne Cup.

The official 24-horse Melbourne Cup field of acceptances will be released this Saturday on Victoria Derby Day, followed by the highly anticipated Melbourne Cup Barrier Draw live from Flemington at 6:30pm (AEDST).

The configuration of the Melbourne Cup field will feature many of the same horses as our ‘early field’ below, however horses at the tail end of the list could be bumped out after the Derby Day race results.

For example, Bauer is unlikely to secure his spot sitting 24th on the elimination order as the winner of the Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) on Saturday will gain a Melbourne Cup ballot exemption.

With a number of horses below Bauer contesting the Lexus, if any of these runners win they will leapfrog Luca Cumani’s 2008 Melbourne Cup runner-up and push him out of contention.

Horses that could sneak into the final Melbourne Cup field with a win on Saturday include Bart Cummings’ JRA Cup winner Precedence, last year’s beaten favourite Alcopop and one of the Lloyd Williams-owned duo Mourayan or Linton.

Also, there is likely to be at least one defector from the existing top 24 in the Melbourne Cup as connections choose not to pay the $49,500 final declaration fee by 5:00pm (AEDST) on Saturday.

That said, here is the 2010 Melbourne Cup field as it would run today.

Which horse do you think would win?

Would it be defending champion Shocking, one of the three fancied runners representing the Cups King Bart Cummings, or one of the eight international Melbourne Cup contenders including Japan’s Mr Medici and Dermot Weld’s mare Profound Beauty?

To put your bet on the Melbourne Cup winner head over to Luxbet today!

2010 Early Melbourne Cup Field – Current Top 24 in the Order of Entry

Horse Trainer Ballot Weight (kg)
SO YOU THINK Bart Cummings 1 56
DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 2 54 (inc. 1.5kg penalty)
SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh 3 57
SHOOT OUT John Wallace 4 55
METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller 5 56
CAMPANOLOGIST (USA) Saeed Bin Suroor 6 56
ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 7 55.5
MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney 8 54
PROFOUND BEAUTY (IRE) Dermot K Weld 9 54
MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho 10 55
FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings 11 52
ILLUSTRIOUS BLUE (GB) William J Knight 12 55
TOKAI TRICK Kenji Nonaka 13 54.5
AMERICAIN (USA) Alain de Royer Dupre 14 54.5 (inc. 0.5kg penalty)
DARIANA Bart Cummings 15 51.5
ONCE WERE WILD Gai Waterhouse 16 51.5
ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings 17 54
HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker 18 54
MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien 19 54
C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 20 54
MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani 21 54
BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan 22 54
JESSICABEEL (NZ) John O’Shea 23 52.5
BAUER (IRE) Luca Cumani 24 53.5
RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent 25 53.5
PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 26 53.5 (inc. 3kg penalty)
MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 27 53.5
HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 28 53.5 (inc. 2kg penalty)

For more free bets on the final Melbourne Cup field please visit our partner site.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field