2010 Mackinnon Stakes Nominations Lead by Melbourne Cup Favourites

Twenty-five gallopers have been nominated for this Saturday’s $1 million Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m), including a number of stayers heading towards the 2010 Melbourne Cup on Tuesday November 2.

The 2010 Longines Mackinnon Stakes is one of four Group 1 races highlighting the nine-event card on Victoria Derby Day at Flemington this Saturday.

So You Think leads the Mackinnon Stakes entries, with Bart Cummings’ deciding to revert back to his tried-and-tested Melbourne Cup preparation with the dual Cox Plate winning star.

After claiming his second consecutive Cox Plate win last weekend, So You Think will line-up in the Mackinnon vying for another Group 1 win at just his 11th career start.

Other horses assured of a spot in the 24-horse Melbourne Cup field after third declarations were taken this morning and that are nominated for the Mackinnon on Saturday include:

  • C’est La Guerre
  • Descarado
  • Faint Perfume
  • Metal Bender
  • Shocking
  • Shoot Out
  • Zipping
  • Zavite

Gai Waterhouse’s Caulfield Cup winner Descarado, reigning Melbourne Cup champion Shocking and Cox Plate runner-up Zipping are all expected to face off with So You Think in the Mackinnon in a final trial before the 150th Melbourne Cup showdown.

Other notable Mackinnon Stakes entries on track for a Melbourne Cup start include 2008 Melbourne Cup third placegetter C’est La Guerre and Chris Waller’s one-time Caulfield Cup favourite Metal Bender.

With a Melbourne Cup ballot exemption on offer for the Mackinnon Stakes winner, there will be plenty of competition as horses outside the top 24 on the order of entry needing a win to get into the Cup field have also been entered including:

  • Red Ruler (29th)
  • Mourayan (31st)
  • Herculian Prince (32nd)
  • Alcopop (33rd)
  • Linton (34th)
  • Moudre (43rd)

Many of these gallopers are also entered for the Group 3 The Lexus Stakes (2500m) on Saturday, which is another Melbourne Cup ballot exemption race.

The 2010 Mackinnon Stakes field of final acceptances will be released on Wednesday, with betting on the feature also due to open then.

So get ready to bet on the final Melbourne Cup lead-up for stars including So You Think and Shocking by signing up with Luxbet today, and if you deposit $25 – $200 and quote the codeword ‘EXTRA400’ you will get double your wager!

2010 Mackinnon Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Handicapper Rating
1 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens 108
2 AT FIRST SIGHT (IRE) Robert Hickmott 105
3 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 108
4 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 115
5 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings 108
6 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd 106
7 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 108
8 KIDNAPPED Peter Snowden 104
9 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton 102
10 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes 89
11 LINTON Robert Hickmott 104
12 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller 116
13 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 101
14 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 107
15 PURPLE Peter Snowden 107
16 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 103
17 RED COLOSSUS Greg Eurell 94
18 RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent 107
19 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh 118
20 SHOOT OUT John Wallace 116
21 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings 122
22 TRUSTING John P Thompson 107
23 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds 109
24 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings 110
25 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 119