Schweppes Stakes Winner Black Caviar Remains Unbeaten – Cox Plate Day Race 5 Results

The 2010 Schweppes Stakes winner is Black Caviar, Peter Moody’s brilliant mare enjoying an effortless win in the $300,000 Group 2 1200m sprint showdown at Moonee Valley’s Cox Plate Day this afternoon.

Black Caviar maintained her unbeaten record in the Schweppes Stakes, her seventh victory from seven starts.

She was the red-hot favourite paying $1.50 to win at Luxbet and the money continued to come in for her, favourite backers well rewarded.

Black Caviar wasn’t away perfectly from the barriers, but she soon found her form and jockey Luke Nolen settled into second behind early leader and pacesetter True Persuasion.

Mick Price’s Manikato Stakes runner-up True Persuasion used a lot of gas to get into the lead, crossing to hit the front before switching to the outside to hold a half length over the favourite.

Coming around the turn, Black Caviar showed her superstar class and on the straight pulled out her blistering turn of foot to dash to the lead.

With 200m to go she lead by three lengths and she continued to open it up and hit the line running away.

Black Caviar was never pressured in her devastating five and a half length win over Hot Danish, True Persuasion fading to finish third.

Moody will now target the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic on Emirates Stakes Day, November 6, where the much awaited clash between Black Caviar and Hay List is on the cards.

The sixth race on the Cox Plate Day card today is the $200,000 Group 2 AAMI Vase (2040m) jumping at 4:00pm (AEDST).

If you haven’t already, head to Luxbet now and open an account with the bookie offering Tote + 20% on all the Melbourne Group races today!

Schweppes Stakes Finishing Order & Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 6 BLACK CAVIAR(2) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 56.5 1-11.01
2nd 4 HOT DANISH(1) Tim Clark Les Bridge 56.5 5.5L
3rd 3 TRUE PERSUASION(6) Craig Newitt Mick Price 58.5 6.3L
4th 1 EAGLE FALLS(3) Damien Oliver David Hayes 58.5 7.3L
5th 5 MELITO(4) Corey Brown Gerald Ryan 56.5 7.4L
6th 2 STANZOUT(5) Craig Williams Colin Davies 58.5 10.1L