2010 Cox Plate Final Field & Barrier Draw

October 19, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

2010 Cox Plate Final Field & Barrier Draw

Today Racing Victoria released the 2010 Cox Plate final field of acceptors with 10 weight-for-age stars set to contest the $3 million feature at Moonee Valley this Saturday.

Leading the Cox Plate acceptances and betting markets this year is reigning champion So You Think.

High Chaparral four-year-old So You Think is the hot favourite to make it back-to-back Cox Plate wins this Saturday, further shortening in the odds after drawing ideally in barrier five.

So You Think is so favoured that leading online bookmaker Sportsbet Paid out All Early Bets on So You Think to Win the 2010 Cox Plate.

Ladbrokes.com.au also have So You Think installed as the clear favourite to take out the coveted Cox Plate / Melbourne Cup double paying $6.50 for the Bart Cummings-trained champ.

Coming off three spring wins including their emphatic last start victory in the Group 1 Yalumba Stakes (2000m) at Caulfield where he ran his rivals ragged, So You Think has been basically unchallenged this season.

The only other runner in the Cox Plate field that has had money come in for them is Gai Waterhouse’s glamour mare More Joyous.

Also drawn well in barrier three, More Than Ready four-year-old More Joyous also comes into the Cox Plate on Saturday having won her past three starts, most recently in the Group 1 Toorak Handicap (1600m) where she handled her debut Melbourne run with ease.

The lightweight of the field with just 55.5kg, More Joyous looks to be So You Think’s biggest threat and her inside gate will allow jockey Nash Rawiller to take her to the front early and set the pace if that’s the tactic Gai decides upon.

Other notable starters in the 2010 Cox Plate are Lloyd Williams’ veteran galloper Zipping who took out the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington last start, the Mark Kavanagh-trained Whobegotyou beaten by So You Think in the Yalumba and Queensland champion Shoot Out.

While two time Cox Plate placegetter Zipping is drawn well in barrier six, due to start beside So You Think, Whobegotyou and Shoot Out both suffered a blow drawing outside gates 10 and nine respectively.

Shoot Out is one of two Queensland runners seeking Cox Plate glory, the other being Captain Sonador in barrier eight, another runner coming off a Group 1 win in the Epsom Handicap (1600m).

Two internationals will line-up in this year’s Cox Plate with Macau gelding Luen Yat Forever in barrier two, who ran an eye-catching fourth to More Joyous in their maiden Australian run last start, and New Zealand’s star Wall Street.

A reshuffle of the Cox Plate odds is underway and the new markets are due to open at Ladbrokes.com.au shortly, so take the time now to open an account with Australia’s favourite online bookie to get in on the Cox Plate action!

*Update: A change of jockey’s is scheduled for Shoot Out in the Cox Plate after Stathi Katsidis was found dead on Tuesday morning.

2010 Cox Plate Final Field, Barrier Draw & Weights

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight (kg) Handicapper Rating
1 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 6 59 119
2 WHOBEGOTYOU Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 10 59 120
3 LUEN YAT FOREVER Pou Choi Dwayne Dunn 2 59 108
4 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds Michael Coleman 4 59 114
5 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings Steven Arnold 5 57.5 122
6 SHOOT OUT John Wallace 9 57.5 118
7 TRUSTING John P Thompson Jim Cassidy 1 57.5 112
8 CAPTAIN SONADOR Roger Milne Glen Boss 8 57.5 112
9 AVIENUS Mark Webb Craig Williams 7 57 107
10 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 3 55.5 115

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field