Ginga Dude Wins 2010 David Jones Cup – Caulfield Cup Day Race 7 Results

Seven-year-old Kiwi galloper Ginga Dude has won the seventh race on the Caulfield Cup Day schedule today, claiming a comprehensive win in the $125,000 Group 3 David Jones Cup (2000m).

The Graeme Boyd-trained Ginga Dude was originally aimed at the 2010 Caulfield Cup but had to settle for a run, and in turn an emphatic win, in the David Jones Cup in his first trip to Australia.

Coming from a wide gate, Ginga Dude did all the work and was ridden aggressively by jockey Michael Walker who turned the race into a true staying test.

After the runners settled, Ginga Dude took to the lead and despite challenges by the likes of Rainbow Styling and Stanstill, the veteran was able to kick up and maintain his front running position.

On the home turn the Kiwi lead by two to three lengths.

In a brilliant staying performance, Ginga Dude continued to lead all the way and then on the home straight he pulled away and thrashed his rivals.

Odds-on favourite Purple came away and got going late, storming home to finish second with Zoomin, in an unlucky run having been held up at a crucial stage, doing well to finish third.

Connections were very pleased with Ginga Dude’s run, saying he was travelling well and would now target the Mackinnon Stakes on Victoria Derby Day.

Lightly-raced and still in peak form for his age, Ginga Dude has now won 12 of his 34 career starts.

The race punters everywhere have been waiting for is up next with the 2010 Caulfield Cup running as Race 8, due to jump at 4:05pm (AEDST).

Shocking has been heavily backed today and to get him at the best price in Australia, head to now!

2010 David Jones Cup Results

Finish No. Horse Jockey Trainer Weight Margin
1st 7 GINGA DUDE(10) Michael Walker Graeme Boyd 54.5 2-6.68
2nd 8 PURPLE(8) Mark Zahra Peter Snowden 54.5 2.0L
3rd 10 ZOOMIN(1) Glen Boss Michael Kent 53.0 3.5L
4th 12 DREAM PEDLAR(9) Danny Nikolic Troy Blacker 53.5 4.5L
5th 5 RAINBOW STYLING(7) Chris Munce Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 55.5 5.5L
6th 1 C’EST LA GUERRE(5) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 57.0 5.9L
7th 13 BECQU ADOREE(11) Gerald Mosse Luca Cumani 53.5 6.9L
8th 17 TOKEN OF HONOUR(12) Dean Yendall David Hayes 53.0 7.1L
9th 15 STANSTILL(2) Craig Williams Michael Kent 53.0 7.6L
10th 18 CROCODILE CANYON(4) M R du Plessis Howard Mathews 53.0 11.1L
11th 6 THE FUZZ(3) Brad Rawiller David Hayes 55.0 12.6L
12th 9 PLAYWRIGHT(6) Steven King Steve Richards 54.0 17.6L
13th 4 EMPIRES CHOICE(13) Luke Nolen Bart Cummings 55.5 21.6L
Src 2 RED RULER Mark Du Plessis John Sargent
Src 3 DEALER PRINCIPAL Nash Rawiller Anthony Cummings
Src 11 PACINO Glyn Schofield Clinton McDonald
Src 14 LARISTAN Dwayne Dunn David Hayes
Src 16 GOTTA KEEP COOL Ben Melham Darren Weir
Src 19 ZANTELAGH Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh