2010 David Jones Cup Field, Barrier Draw & Preview

October 14, 2010

2010 David Jones Cup Field, Barrier Draw & Preview

One of the most anticipated races on Caulfield Cup Day this Saturday is the $125,000 Group 3 David Jones Cup (2000m), which has attracted a capacity field of top stayers.

The 2010 David Jones Cup final field features 16 gallopers plus three emergencies, making this one of the best betting opportunities for punters at the Caulfield meeting.

Leading the entries is the Lloyd Williams-owned C’est La Guerre, the 2008 Melbourne Cup third placegetter coming off his first win in over two years after taking out the Craven Plate (2000m) at Randwick a fortnight ago.

The top-weighted David Jones Cup runner, C’est La Guerre will carry 57 kilos on Saturday when ridden by Nicholas Hall, two kilos less than the six-year-old carried to victory in the Craven.

Craven Plate runner-up Purple is also back to face off against C’est La Guerre again on Saturday, the Peter Snowden-trained mare coming off some impressive recent form that also included a third to Theseo in the Chelmsford Stakes and a third to Descarado in the Hill Stakes.

One horse likely to get plenty of love from the punters when betting markets on the race open at Ladbrokes.com.au is the Hawkes-trained Zabeel gelding Rainbow Styling.

Six-year-old Rainbow Styling claimed an upset win in the Naturalism Stakes at this track and distance two starts back and is backing up from an eye-catching second to Precedence in the JRA Cup at Moonee Valley.

International runners set to contest the David Jones Cup this year include Kiwi gelding Red Ruler * and the Luca Cumani-trained European mare Becqu Adoree making her Australian race debut heading towards the 2010 Melbourne Cup.

The feature race on the card at Caulfield this Saturday is the $2.5 million Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) scheduled as Race 8 at 4:05pm (AEDST), while the 2010 David Jones Cup will run earlier as Race 7 at 3:20 (AEDST).

Make sure you lock in the best odds on all your selections this weekend by signing up with Ladbrokes.com.au today!

*Note: Red Ruler has been scratched from the 2010 David Jones Cup as the scratching of Zabrasive and Master O’Reilly from the Caulfield Cup pushes Red Ruler into the field as the second emergency. The Chris Waller-trained Token Of Honour now gains a start in the David Jones Cup.

*Update: Pacino is the second horse to be scratched from Saturday’s David Jones Cup. Pacino was a $61 outsider to win and their withdrawal paves the way for second emergency Crocodile Canyon to start from barrier five.

*Update: Four more runners have been scratched from today’s Daivd Jones Cup with #3 Dealer Principal, #14 Laristan, #16 Gotta Keep Cool and #19 Zantelagh all ruled out

2010 David Jones Cup Final Field, Barrier Draw & Weights

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 7 57 108
2 SCRATCHED RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent Mark Du Plessis 6 56.5 107
3 DEALER PRINCIPAL Anthony Cummings Nash Rawiller 17 55.5 103
4 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Bart Cummings Luke Nolen 19 55.5 104
5 RAINBOW STYLING (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Chris Munce 9 55.5 103
6 THE FUZZ (NZ) David Hayes Brad Rawiller 4 55 102
7 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd Michael Walker 13 54.5 101
8 PURPLE Peter Snowden Mark Zahra 11 54.5 107
9 PLAYWRIGHT (NZ) Steve Richards Steven King 8 54 100
10 ZOOMIN (NZ) Michael Kent Glen Boss 2 53 97
11 PACINO Clinton McDonald Glyn Schofield 15 53 95
12 DREAM PEDLAR Troy Blacker Danny Nikolic 12 53 93
13 BECQU ADOREE (FR) Luca Cumani Gerald Mosse 16 53 89
14 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 10 53 89
15 STANSTILL (IRE) Michael Kent Craig Williams 3 53 89
16 GOTTA KEEP COOL Darren Weir Ben Melham 14 53 86
17e TOKEN OF HONOUR David Hayes 18 53 82
18e CROCODILE CANYON (NZ) Howard Mathews 5 53 82
19e ZANTELAGH Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 1 53 78

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

McDonald to team up with Care ...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field