Caulfield Cup Field 2010 Final Acceptances

October 12, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Caulfield Cup Field 2010 Final Acceptances

The 2010 Caulfield Cup final field has been released featuring the 18 gallopers that will run in the richest 2400m handicap in the world this Saturday.

Earlier this morning 25 horses were paid up for in the final declaration stage this morning.

The $2.5 million Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m), set to run at Caulfield this Saturday, has a field limit of 18 starters meaning the Melbourne Racing Club had to determine which of the final acceptors made the cup.

The four horses that sat equal 17th on the final declarations elimination order for the 2010 Caulfield Cup were Alcopop, Herculian Prince, Mourayan and Red Ruler, fighting for the final two spots in the field for Saturday’s showdown.

Last year’s beaten Melbourne Cup favourite Alcopop made the field after a slashing second behind So You Think in last Saturday’s Yalumba takes.

Gai Waterhouse’s Group 1 The Metropolitan winner Herculian Prince was the final Caulfield Cup starter.

Waterhouse will also be represented by High Chaparral four-year-old Descarado on Saturday.

The Lloyd Williams-owned Mourayan and Kiwi galloper Red Ruler were then installed as the first and second emergencies.

Third emergency for this year’s Caulfield Cup will be European raider Drunken Sailor, who was 21st on the order of entry, the Luca Cumani-trained gelding heading towards the Group 3 Geelong Cup (2400m) on October 20.

Other horses accepted today but who were too far down the order of entry to gain a start were Valdemoro (22nd) named the fourth emergency, equal 23rd Moudre and Ginga Dude, and Count Encosta (25th).

Moudre was a one-time favourite to win the Caulfield Cup, with trainer Ciaron Maher now having to reassess the remainder of his five-year-olds spring campaign.

Three international horses will feature in the 2010 Caulfield Cup field this year with Japan’s Tokai Trick, Hong Kong champion Mr Medici and another from the Cumani stables, Manighar.

Other notable horses in this year’s Caulfield Cup include topweight Shocking with 57kg, early favourite Metal Bender, and Bart Cummings’ star mares Faint Perfume and Dariana.

Stay tuned for our detailed Caulfield Cup preview after tomorrow’s barrier draw.

Get in on the betting action by signing up with now to get your Caulfield Cup favourites at the hottest odds in Australia.

Note: Zabrasive and Master O’Reilly have been scratched from the 2010 Caulfield Cup

Update: Jessicabeel has been scratched from today’s Caulfield Cup

2010 Caulfield Cup Final Field

No Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Penalty Handicapper Rating
1 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 57 118
2 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 56 116
3 MR MEDICI (IRE) Peter Ho Gerald Mosse 55 112
4 TOKAI TRICK (JPN) Kenji Nonaka Shinji Fujita 54.5 111
5 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan Steven King 54 108
6 HARRIS TWEED (NZ) Murray & Bjorn Baker Brad Rawiller 54 109
7 MANIGHAR (FR) Luca Cumani Damien Oliver 54 110
8 SCRATCHED MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn 54 107
9 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams 54 108
10 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Chris Waller Larry Cassidy 54 114
11 ZAVITE (NZ) Anthony Cummings Ben Melham 54 110
12 ALCOPOP Jake Stephens Mark Zahra 53.5 108
13 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield 53.5 2.0 110
14 SCRATCHED ZABRASIVE (NZ) John O’Shea Craig Newitt 53 107
15 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 52.5 111
16 SCRATCHED JESSICABEEL (NZ) John O’Shea James Winks 52.5 108
17 FAINT PERFUME Bart Cummings Glen Boss 52 108
18 DARIANA Bart Cummings Luke Nolen 51.5 109
19e MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 53.5 107
20e RED RULER (NZ) John Sargent Mark Du Plessis 53.5 107
21e DRUNKEN SAILOR (IRE) Luca Cumani 53 108
22e VALDEMORO Tony Vasil Jason Maskiell (a) 50 101

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field