2010 Cox Plate Third Declarations Leaves 24 Hopefuls

October 5, 2010

2010 Cox Plate Third Declarations Leaves 24 Hopefuls

Just 24 weight-for-age gallopers remain in contention for the 2010 Cox Plate after the third declarations for the Moonee Valley feature were taken by Racing Victoria today.

Twenty-five horses have been cut from the Cox Plate entries at the third declaration stage today, but with the $3 million Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) having a field limit of just 14 runners, another 10 horses will not make the Cox Plate field.

Hot favourite to win the 2010 Cox Plate is defending champ So You Think, trained by the renowned Bart Cummings.

Aside from So You Think, Cummings also has his Redoute’s Choice mare Allez Wonder still on the Cox Plate path.

So You Think is paying $2.50 in the Cox Plate betting markets at Sportbet, while Allez Wonder is a long shot chance at $201.

Updated 2010 Cox Plate Odds Following Third Declarations

  • So You Think ($2.50)
  • Whobegotyou ($6)
  • More Joyous ($7)
  • Shoot Out ($9)

For full markets and to bet on your favourite visit Ladbrokes.com.au

Other early Cox Plate favourites among the third acceptors are weight-for-age warhorse Whobegotyou, Gai Waterhouse’s brilliant mare More Joyous and Queensland galloper Shoot Out.

Notable Absentees from 2010 Cox Plate Third Declarations

  • Alandi (Robert Hickmott)
  • Danleigh (Chris Waller)
  • Triple Honour (Chris Waller)
  • Theseo (Gai Waterhouse)
  • Zabrasive (John O’Shea)

Notable absentees from the Cox Plate third declarations today include the Lloyd Williams-owned Alandi and Gai Waterhouse’s seven-year-old Theseo who was ruled out last month after pulling up lame from their failed run in the George Main Stakes.

The only international horse still among the Cox Plate entries is Macau gelding Luen Yat Forever.

The 2010 Cox Plate final field will be released on Tuesday October 19 and published here so bookmark us at Races.com.au.

Today the list of horses left in contention for the two other major spring features were also narrowed down with the 2010 Caulfield Cup third declarations and the 2010 Melbourne Cup second declarations taken.

Updated betting markets are now open at Ladbrokes.com.au, so check them out today and if you fancy their great odds and want to sign up remember it only takes five minutes to join and new customers get a free $300 bet!

2010 Tatts Cox Plate Third Declarations

# Horse Trainer Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 WHOBEGOTYOU Mark Kavanagh 59 120
2 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott 59 119
3 SHOCKING Mark Kavanagh 59 120
4 METAL BENDER (NZ) Chris Waller 59 117
5 VIGOR (NZ) Danny O’Brien 59 116
6 BUCCELLATI (GB) Tony Noonan 59 115
7 LA ROCKET Dale Sutton 59 115
8 C’EST LA GUERRE (NZ) Robert Hickmott 59 114
9 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 59 114
10 WALL STREET (NZ) Jeff Lynds 59 114
11 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 59 110
12 LUEN YAT FOREVER Pou Choi 59 108
13 SHOOT OUT John Wallace 57.5 118
14 SO YOU THINK (NZ) Bart Cummings 57.5 122
15 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) Michael Moroney 57.5 116
16 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 57.5 115
17 CAPTAIN SONADOR Roger Milne 57.5 112
18 TRUSTING John P Thompson 57.5 112
19 LINTON Robert Hickmott 57.5 111
20 TYPHOON TRACY Peter G Moody 57 118
21 ALLEZ WONDER Bart Cummings 57 109
22 AVIENUS Mark Webb 57 107
23 GHOSTMILK (IRE) Peter G Moody 57 96
24 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 55.5 115

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Le Romain gets top weight for ...

Youngstar and Another Dollar r...

Youngstar and Another Dollar run quinella again in 2018 Queensland Oaks

The Chris Waller trained stablemates Youngstar and Another Dollar repeated...

Impending adds value to stud c...

Impending adds value to stud career with 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup win

The James Cummings trained Impending added value to his future stud career by...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betting Update

Betting for the 2018 Group 1 $700,000 Altus Traffic Kingsford-Smith Cup...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field