Hay List Wins 2010 Gilgai Stakes Beating Catapulted and Chasm

October 4, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Hay List Wins 2010 Gilgai Stakes Beating Catapulted and Chasm

John McNair’s sensational five-year-old Hay List has continued its brilliant spring form with another Group race victory, coasting home to win the $250,000 Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) at Flemington on Sunday.

Statue Of Liberty gelding Hay List went out as the hot $1.55 favourite and easily beat home the Mark Kavanagh-trained Catapulted ($6.50) by one and a half lengths with long-priced roughie Chasm ($61) a further half-head away third.

Hay List, ridden by Glyn Schofield, kicked away inside the 500m to race clear of his rivals and score his third consecutive win this season having previously taken out the Group 3 McEwen Stakes (1000m) and Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m).

The super consistent sprinter has now enjoyed 12 wins from his 14 career starts for $956,125 in prize money.

Sunday’s win came in a sharp 1:8.2 seconds, which was just 1.1 seconds outside the course record.

Making the victory even more impressive were the post-race comments by hoop Schofield who stated Hay List “never felt like he was out of third or fourth gear”.

This combined with the fact McNair said the sprinter’s feet were suffering from thin soles during the run and were only 85 per cent right, indicates we are yet to see the best from Hay List.

Hay List has the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic (1200m) on Emirates Stakes Day at Flemington, November 6 scheduled as his main spring aim.

Before the Patinack, McNair will start Hay List in the Group 2 Schweppes Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley’s Cox Plate Day on October 23.

For punters wanting to get behind Hay List at his next spring start, we highly recommend signing up and placing your wagers with Ladbrokes.com.au where you are guaranteed a better price than at the TAB.

2010 Gilgai Stakes Results

Place Horse Jockey Trainer Margin SP
1 HAY LIST Glyn Schofield John McNair 1-8.20 $1.55F
2 CATAPULTED Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 1.3L $6.50
3 CHASM Brad Rawiller Heath Conners 1.4L $61
4 BANK ROBBER Corey Brown Mark Kavanagh 3.6L $13
5 TRADER Damien Oliver Anthony Cummings 4.6L $31
6 UXORIOUS Craig Williams Matthew Williams 5.1L $41
7 SWICK James Winks Bart Cummings 5.2L $41
8 ROSTOVA Steven King Steve Richards 5.3L $41
9 GOOD CONTROL Steven Arnold Patrick Lee 5.4L $81
10 WEEKEND HUSSLER Glen Boss Ross McDonald 6.4L $18
11 SNIPER’S BULLET Mark Zahra Robert Smerdon 6.8L $41
12 PERTURBO Ben Melham Colin & Cindy Alderson 8.8L $41
13 BELTROIS Nicholas Hall Robbie Griffiths 8.9L $41
SCR AVENUE Peter G Moody

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field