Zipping wins 2010 Turnbull Stakes – Flemington Race 7 Results

October 3, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Zipping wins 2010 Turnbull Stakes – Flemington Race 7 Results

Zipping has won the 2010 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington today from an all-star lineup. Jumping from barrier 6, Zipping won by a neck from Shocking with the race favourite Shoot Out in third.

With 400m to go it was a tight battle between Shocking, Shoot Out, Typhoon Tracy, Metal Bender and Zipping. But it was 9-year-old Danehill gelding Zipping, trained by Robert Hickmott and owned by Lloyd Williams, who was ridden beautifully by Nicholas Hall to edge ahead at the line to win by a neck from the top quality field. Zipping has previously run in the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes, taking out third place in 2008.

With such a top quality field, Zipping was not an odds on favourite to win and paid $20.60 at and $19.80 on the tote.

After his win in the $500,000 Group 1 Turnbull Stakes Zipping’s career results now stand at 43 starts with 15 wins and total prize money of more than $3.6 million.

The top 4 finishing order for the 2010 Turnbull Stakes:

  • 1st: Zipping
  • 2nd: Shocking
  • 3rd: Shoot Out
  • 4th: Metal Bender

2010 Turnbull Stakes Results

Finish No Horse Jockey Trainer Wg Margin
1st 2 ZIPPING(6) Nicholas Hall Robert Hickmott 59.0 2-3.23
2nd 1 SHOCKING(12) Michael Rodd Mark Kavanagh 59.0 0.2L
3rd 5 SHOOT OUT(2) Stathi Katsidis John Wallace 58.0 0.3L
4th 4 METAL BENDER(13) Hugh Bowman Chris Waller 59.0 1.3L
5th 9 TYPHOON TRACY(9) Luke Nolen Peter G Moody 57.0 1.7L
6th 12 FAINT PERFUME(5) Glen Boss Bart Cummings 56.0 5.0L
7th 14 BUCCELLATI(7) Blake Shinn Tony Noonan 55.5 6.7L
8th 7 VIGOR(11) James Winks Danny O’Brien 57.5 6.9L
9th 10 ZABRASIVE(10) Craig Newitt John O’Shea 56.5 7.1L
10th 13 JESSICABEEL(16) Mark Zahra John O’Shea 55.5 7.6L
11th 15 DARIANA(15) Steven Arnold Bart Cummings 54.5 7.8L
12th 6 MONACO CONSUL(1) Craig Williams Michael Moroney 58.0 8.8L
13th 11 STERLING PRINCE(4) Steven King Wayne Hillis 56.5 10.8L
14th 16 DESCARADO(14) Dwayne Dunn Gai Waterhouse 54.5 11.8L
15th 8 SPEED GIFTED(3) Danny Nikolic Lee Freedman 57.5 15.3L
16th 3 ZAVITE(8) Ben Melham Anthony Cummings 59.0 16.3L
Src 17 RAFFAELLO Jim Marconi
Src 18 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher
Src 19 C’EST LA GUERRE Robert Hickmott
Src 20 VALDEMORO Jason Maskiell Tony Vasil

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field