Precedence Wins 2010 JRA Cup Storming into Caulfield Cup Contention

September 27, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Precedence Wins 2010 JRA Cup Storming into Caulfield Cup Contention

On Friday night the Bart Cummings-trained Precedence further stormed into Caulfield Cup contention after coasting to victory in the $200,000 Group 3 JRA Cup (2040m) at Moonee Valley.

Five-year-old Zabeel gelding Precedence jumped as the $3.20 favourite and went on to defeat Naturalism Stakes winner Rainbow Styling ($12) by over a length, with the Lloyd Williams-owned Linton ($3.60) in third.

Precedence was ridden by Blake Shinn, who also enjoyed victory aboard Hollowlea in the Group 2 Stutt Stakes at the same meeting.

Last year’s JRA Cup winner Alcopop ran an eye-catching fifth on Friday night, reaffirming his Caulfield and Melbourne Cup chances for this year.

After the victory, the gelding’s first of the spring season, bookies quickly readjusted their 2010 Caulfield Cup betting markets, with Precedence firming into the $8 second elect behind stablemate Dariana at Sportsbet.

However, Cummings is sweating on a JRA Cup victory penalty from the VRC’s Chief Handicapper Greg Carpenter.

Precedence is still well down the Caulfield Cup elimination order in 42nd, needing a historic 2kg penalty to have a chance of securing a spot in the field for October 16.

A run in the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m) at Caulfield on October 9 will then likely be used by Cummings to try and qualify Precedence for the Cup.

To back Precedence in the early Caulfield Cup betting, sign up with Australia’s favourite online bookie today and get access to better odds than the TAB!

2010 JRA Cup Results

Place Horse Jockey Trainer SP
1 PRECEDENCE Blake Shinn Bart Cummings $3.20
2 RAINBOW STYLING Jim Cassidy M, W & J Hawkes $12
3 LINTON Michael Rodd Robert Hickmott $3.60
4 EMBLEM OF LIBERTY Michael Walker Darren Weir $61
5 ALCOPOP Mark Zahra Jake Stephens $16
6 AVIENUS Craig Williams Mark Webb $5
7 ABOVE AVERAGE Damien Oliver Lee Freedman $21
8 CHARTREUX Jason MAskiell David Hayes $15
9 BELSCENICA Ben Melham Tony Noonan $21
10 RIGHT FONG Mark Pegus David Balfour $26
11 EXTRA ZERO Craig Newitt David Hayes $31
12 HASTEIN Stephen Baster Mark Kavanagh $18
13 BASALTICO Luke Nolen B & S Wilde $101

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Alizee is the standout in 2018...

Winx is 1 of 6 Waller horses i...

Winx is 1 of 6 Waller horses in 2018 Chipping Norton Stakes

Champion mare Winx is one of six Chris Waller trained horses among the...

Price could have 3 runners in ...

Price could have 3 runners in 2018 Australian Guineas

Leading Caulfield trainer Mick Price could have three runners in the Group 1...

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race Day Results: Kementari wins Hobartville Stakes

A great day’s racing at Rosehill today that will make the Golden Slipper...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field