Melbourne Cup Runners

September 17, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Melbourne Cup Runners

There will be 24 runners in the 2010 Melbourne Cup Field, with the final list of participating horses to be released during the celebrations of Victoria Derby Day on Saturday, October 30.

Currently 151 stayers from around the globe are still in contention for a spot in the 150th Melbourne Cup final field after first declarations were taken on September 7.

After the list of Melbourne Cup nominations were cut down at first declaration stage, online bookmaker Sportsbet have last year’s winner Shocking as the $8 favourite to win again on Tuesday November 2 at Flemington.

  • There are 24 Melbourne Cup Runners each year
  • Melbourne Cup Runners are released on Victoria Derby Day
  • Horses can automatically qualify as a Melbourne Cup Runner by winning certain races
  • Melbourne Cup Runners must meet a set criteria
  • Conditions of Melbourne Cup Runners includes having earned a minimum amount of prize money

Melbourne Cup runners are a special breed of horse as they most posses the ability to last the testing two mile (3200m) distance of the iconic race as well as pass certain qualifications.

Leading up to the marquee race of the annual Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) that runs the Melbourne Cup release continually updating orders of entry.

The Melbourne Cup ballot orders all of the horses entered for the famous handicap feature according to their chance of making the field of acceptances.

Horses hoping for a run in the Melbourne Cup must meet set criteria including having won a specified amount of prize money and placed or won in internationally recognised races of a certain status.

Melbourne Cup runners can receive a ballot exemption via races including the Victoria Derby, Mackinnon Stakes, Cox Plate or Caulfield Cup in Australia as well as overseas events such as the Irish St Leger or Japan’s Tenno Sho.

Races that Carry a Melbourne Cup Ballot Exemption:

  • VRC The Lexus Stakes
  • VRC AAMI Victoria Derby
  • VRC Mackinnon Stakes
  • MVRC Cox Plate
  • MRC Calfield Cup
  • Irish St Leger (IRE)
  • Tenno Sho (Spring) (JPN)
  • ARB Australian Stayers Challenge

Currently just one horse has earned automatic entry into the 2010 Melbourne Cup, British raider Sans Frontieres after winning this year’s Irish St Leger.

Find out the latest 2010 Melbourne Cup Ballot to see what horses have passed the first elimination clause by following the link.

Stay up to date with the latest news and form of the Melbourne Cup runners by bookmarking us here at

Now is the perfect time to get your early Melbourne Cup Betting selections in at a generous quote, so visit and make sure you get the best possible price this spring!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field