2010 Melbourne Cup Ballot

September 16, 2010

2010 Melbourne Cup Ballot

An updated order of entry for the 2010 Melbourne Cup ballot has been released by the VRC detailing the horses that have, and those that are still yet to pass, the first ballot clause for the 150th Emirates Melbourne Cup on Tuesday November 2.

There are now 78 horses that have passed the first ballot clause for the $6 million Melbourne Cup and just one exempt from ballot.

The biggest mover in the 2010 Melbourne Cup order of entry following last weekend’s racing is Jeremy Noseda’s Sans Frontieres who is now the only horse exempt from ballot following their devastating win in the Irish St Leger.

Sans Frontieres is the current second favourite at $12 to win this year’s Melbourne Cup through Sportsbet, and was 14th on the order of entry before their St Leger win moved them to the top of the list.

Last year’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking is the early favourite to win again this year at $8 and is fourth on the order of entry behind topweight Alandi and the Saeed bin Suroor-trained Cavalryman.

Cavalryman, however, is still in doubt of making a trip Down Under for the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Another international star unlikely to be a amongst the Melbourne Cup field this spring is Rebel Raider, currently 10th on the order of entry.

There are still a total of 72 stayers yet to pass the first elimination clause leaving their chances of securing a spot in the 24-horse Melbourne Cup field still in doubt.

Notable Cup hopefuls still to pass include Bart Cummings’ Cox Plate champion So You Think and early 2010 Caulfield Cup favourite Moudre.

So You Think is currently at $17 to win the Melbourne Cup at Sportsbet and will next race this Saturday in the Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield.

Meanwhile, Moudre is out to beat the Caulfield Cup ballot this weekend, starting in the Naturalism Stakes.

A win in the Naturalism will secure a spot for the bush-trained galloper in the Caulfield Cup on October 16 and if they place eighth or better qualify for a Melbourne Cup run.

Penalties awarded to winning horses over the next few weeks by the VRC’s chief handicapper Greg Carpenter will likely see big changes to the order of entry.

Now is the perfect time to get in on the Melbourne Cup betting action and if you want to get the best odds and enjoy a large payout come Cup Day then sign up at Ladbrokes.com.au today!

2010 Melbourne Cup Order of Entry – Top 10

# Horse (trainer) Weight Race won to Pass First Ballot Clause
1 SANS FRONTIERES (Jeremy Noseda) 57.0 (inc 2kg pen) Exempt From Ballot – Irish St Leger
2 ALANDI (IRE) (Robert Hickmott) 58.0 Irish St LEger
3 CAVALRYMAN (GB) (Saeed Bin Suroor) 57.5 Arc de Triomphe
4 SHOCKING (Mark Kavanagh) 57.0 Emirates Melbourne Cup
5 RITE OF PASSAGE (GB) (Dermot Weld) 57.0 Ascot Gold Cup
6 SHOOT OUT (John Wallace) 55.0 AJC Derby
7 CAMPANOLOGIST (USA) (Saeed bin Suroor) 56.0 Deutschland Grosser Preis
8 ZIPPING (Robert Hickmott) 55.5 Sandown Classic
9 MONACO CONSUL (NZ) (Michael Moroney) 54.0 Victoria Derby
10 REBEL RAIDER (Leon MacDonald) 55.5 Victoria Derby

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field