More Joyous moves up Cox Plate Markets with 2010 Theo Marks Stakes Win

Gai Waterhouse’s star mare More Joyous has moved up in the 2010 Cox Plate betting markets following her impressive victory in the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill on Saturday.

Known this year as the Sebring Sprint, the Theo Marks Stakes featured a cracker field of elite spring contenders but it was $2.15 favourite More Joyous who took the honours and awed the spectators, beating Rothesay ($3.50) by a forceful three lengths with Drumbeats ($14) a gallant third just a further head away.

More Joyous was backing up from her eye catching first-up win in the Listed Sheraco Stakes (1100m) last month, Saturday’s win her eighth victory from 11 career starts giving the daughter of More Than Ready over $930,000 in career earnings to date.

Trainer Waterhouse, owner John Singleton and jockey Corey Brown, filling in for regular rider Nash Rawiller on suspension, all expressed their high opinion of the mare with Brown saying More Joyous was the best horse he has ever ridden.

“This mare is going from strength to strength. Cox Plate here we come,” said Waterhouse.

Leading online bookmaker Sportsbet now have More Joyous as a $12 chance to win the 2010 Cox Plate on October 23, with reigning champion So You Think still the hot favourite at $3.80.

Waterhouse enjoyed further success on Saturday at Rosehill as her boom gelding Herculian Prince took out the Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes (2000m) in devastating style showing he is on track for the 2010 Melbourne Cup on Tuesday November 2.

The other Group race at Rosehill on Saturday was the Group 3 Research Stakes (1200m) won by the Peter Snowden-trained Trim.

Visit the individual race sites by clicking on the race names above to read the full results from these other events.

Punters that had their bets down at Sportsbet for Saturday’s races enjoyed the biggest payouts and if you want to be part of the winner’s circle this spring join up to now and have access to the best horse racing odds!

2010 Theo Marks Stakes Results

Place Horse Jockey SP
1 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Corey Brown $2.15F
2 ROTHESAY Blake Shinn $3.50
3 DRUMBEATS Tye Angland $14
4 BLACK PIRANHA Hugh Bowman $20
5 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) Jim Cassidy $13
6 DESCARADO (NZ) Joshua Parr $51
7 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Tim Clark $101
9 BRILLIANT LIGHT Jay Ford $8.50
10 CONISTON BLUEBIRD Kathy O’Hara $201
11 SNIPER’S BULLET Grant Buckley $41