Rothesay & More Joyous Top Picks in 2010 Theo Marks Stakes Final Field

September 9, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Rothesay & More Joyous Top Picks in 2010 Theo Marks Stakes Final Field

This Saturday a star studded field of spring superstars will draw a huge crowd to Rosehill Racecourse for the feature event at the meeting, the $200,000 Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes (1400m).

Registered this year as the Sebring Sprint, the 2010 Theo Marks Stakes has drawn a final field of 11 gallopers headlined by a number of Group 1 winners including More Joyous, Rothesay and Sniper’s Bullet who will top the betting markets at Sportsbet.

One of the most exciting Theo Marks Stakes runners is Gai Waterhouse’s plum mare More Joyous drawn mid-field in barrier nine.

The four-year-old daughter of More Than Ready, who won the Group 1 Surround Stakes back in the autumn, showed her brilliance first-up last start when she carried a hefty 59kg to victory in the Listed Sheraco Stakes at Rosehill and is expected to improve again on Saturday.

Another early favourite is the Gerald Ryan-trained Rothesay after the four-year-old son of Fastnet Rock came up trumps in the barrier draw with gate two.

Rothesay is a super consistent galloper who won both the Lord Mayor’s Cup and the Queensland Guineas last season and showed he was still in form winning his barrier trial at this track less than a fortnight ago.

Other Theo Marks Stakes runners include Tracey Bartley’s Sniper’s Bullet, the returning Black Piranha and Bart Cummings’ Caulfield Cup hopeful Empires Choice.

There will be plenty of action for Sportsbet punters this Saturday as Rosehill will also host two other Group features, the Group 3 Research Stakes (1200m) featuring star fillies Patronyme and Montana Flyer, and the Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes (2000m) headed by promising stayers No Wine No Song and Herculian Prince.

Don’t wait until raceday to get your wager down on these great Rosehill races and have to settle for the inferior odds at the TAB. For the best odds and ease of betting from home we highly recommend, Australia’s favourite online bookie!

2010 Theo Marks Stakes Final Field & Barriers

# Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight (kg) Hcp. Rating
1 BLACK PIRANHA Con Karakatsanis Hugh Bowman 4 60.5 116
2 SNIPER’S BULLET Tracey Bartley Grant Buckley 10 59.5 114
3 DESCARADO (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Joshua Parr 8 55.5 106
4 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Corey Brown 9 54.5 108
5 BRILLIANT LIGHT Kerry Parker Jay Ford 1 54.5 104
6 DEALER PRINCIPAL Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 3 54 103
7 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne Jim Cassidy 5 53.5 102
8 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Bart Cummings Tim Clark 11 53.5 102
9 DRUMBEATS Peter Snowden Tye Angland 6 53 101
10 ROTHESAY Gerald Ryan Blake Shinn 2 52.5 100
11 CONISTON BLUEBIRD Bede Murray Kathy O’Hara 7 52 97

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field