Melbourne Cup Winners

September 7, 2010

Melbourne Cup Winners

As the richest and most prestigious thoroughbred race in Australia, the Melbourne Cup attracts the finest gallopers from across the globe and the winner’s list features all of the turf greats. The racing world is now ready to add another name to the greats with 2010 Melbourne Cup winner decided on Tuesday November 2.

The Melbourne Cup History is long and rich with the horses that have secured the Loving Trophy by being the first over the line in the testing 3,200m handicap also securing a place in the hearts of racing enthusiasts and punters the world over.

The first Melbourne Cup winner was the great Archer who won back-to-back Cups in 1861 and 1862 for trainer Etienne de Mestre.

De Mestre would go on to prepare another three Melbourne Cup winners with Tim Whiffler (1867), Chester (1877) and Calamia (1878) to become the leading Melbourne Cup winning trainer before the legendary Bart Cummings came into the picture.

Cummings has won 12 Melbourne Cups over the year and will attempt his record 13th win in the 150th edition of the Melbourne Cup at this year’s Cup Carnival.

Horses leading the contingent for Cummings include Queensland Derby winner Dariana, Cox Plate champion So You Think, star mare Faint Perfume and Precedence.

Can one of these stayers become the 2010 Melbourne Cup winner and put Cummings in the history books again?

Another early favourite in the Melbourne Cup Odds to win the $6 million Flemington feature is the 2009 Melbourne Cup winner Shocking.

There have been just five Melbourne Cup winners to claim back-to-back success in the world’s richest handicap with Makybe Diva (2003, 2004, 2005), Think Big (1974, 1975), Rain Lover (1968, 1969), Peter Pan (1932, 1934) and of course Archer (1861, 1862).

Other famous Melbourne Cup winners include Cabine (1890), the mighty Phar Lap (1930), Comic Court (1951), Rising Fast (1954), Galilee (1966), Vintage Crop (1993) and Saintly (1996).

All Melbourne Cup winners share some similar traits including the ability to stay the distance, a determination to win and a talented trainer.

When getting in on the Melbourne Cup Betting markets for this year’s race make sure you look out for these winning traits.

The other tip is to place your bets at an online bookmaker such as instead of wasting your wagers at the TAB who offer inferior odds compared to those you can get at!

Below is a list of the most recent Melbourne Cup winners and placegetters.

Today at midday the Melbourne Cup first declarations are out narrowing down the list of hopeful horses that could feature in the Melbourne Cup Field this year and go on to become the 2010 Melbourne Cup winner!

Recent Melbourne Cup Winners & Placegetters

Year Winner Runner-Up Third
2009 Shocking Crime Scene Mourilyan
2008 Viewed Bauer C’est La Guerre
2007 Efficient Purple Moon Mahler
2006 Delta Blues Pop Rock Maybe Better
2005 Makybe Diva On A Jeune Xcellent
2004 Makybe Diva Vinnie Roe Zazzman
2003 Makybe Diva She’s Archie Jardine’s Lookout
2002 Media Puzzle Mr Prudent Beekeeper
2001 Ethereal Give The Slip Persian Punch
2000 Brew Yippyio Second Coming

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?