Shocking Defeats Heart Of Dreams To Win 2010 Makybe Diva Stakes

Shocking reaffirmed his potential to become a back-to-back Melbourne Cup winner after defeating a quality field in the Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) on Saturday.

The four-year-old improved on his first up seventh in the Group Two JJ Liston Stakes (1400m) last month, and paid well to punters who tried to compare odds prior to the jump.

Trainer Mark Kavanagh was impressed with the run of his 2010 Makybe Stakes winner, which responded to the touch of jockey Michael Rodd perfectly.

The duo sat in the middle of the field due to the wet weather, but Rodd took advantage of the son of Street Cry’s turn of foot to surge though the field and claim a half-length win over Heart Of Dreams.

The runner up gave a last dash attempt to create an upset in what was an eye-catching finish, and defeated Vigor by a further length and a quarter which finished in third.

Danleigh headed into the 2010 Makybe Diva Stakes as the favourite at, but hardly looked a threat and finished fourth.

Kavanagh has pointed out the 2010 Cox Plate and the Group One Turnbull Stakes (2000m) on October 2 as potential jumps for Shocking prior to the Melbourne Cup, but will confirm closer to the date.

Also taking place on Saturday was the Group Two Danehill Stakes (1200m), the Group Two Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m), the Group Three Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) and five other great races.

So if you would like to follow Shocking or any other runner this spring then head to for the best online odds available.

2010 Makybe Diva Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 Shocking Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
2 Heart Of Dreams Mick Price Damien Oliver
3 Vigor (NZ) Danny O’Brien James Winks
4 Danleigh Chris Waller Jim Cassidy
5 C’Est La Guerre (NZ) Robert Hickmott Danny Nikolic
6 Zavite (NZ) Anthony Cummings Ban Melham
7 Monaco Consul (NZ) Michael Moroney Craig Williams
8 Speed Gifted (GB) Lee Freedman Luke Nolen
9 Sterling Prince (NZ) Wayne Hillis Steven King
10 Doctor Fremantle (GB) Lee Freedman Mark Zahra
11 Red Ruler (NZ) John Sargent Craig Newitt
12 Chartreux David Hayes Brad Rawiller
13 Master O’Reilly (NZ) Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn
14 Mourayan (IRE) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall
15 Rebel Raider Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop
16 Alandi (IRE) Robert Hickmott Steven Arnold
Scratched Baughurst Bill & Symon Wilde Michelle Payne
Scratched Fanjura (IRE) Lee Freedman Dwayne Dunn
Scratched Ghostmilk (IRE) Peter G Moody