Melbourne Cup Prize Money

September 3, 2010

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Melbourne Cup Prize Money

Every year the biggest event offering the most prize money on the Australian Horse Racing Calendar runs as Race 7 at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November when the time-honoured Melbourne Cup takes place, and the 2010 Melbourne Cup is the most anticipated running of the race in history.

Not only is it the 150th anniversary of the Melbourne Cup this year, but the Melbourne Cup Field will also be fighting it out for the largest amount of winnings ever as the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) has boosted the stakes for the coveted event to an unprecedented $6,175,000 in prize money plus trophies.

Sponsored by Emirates Airline, the 2010 Melbourne Cup winner and placegetters will share in $6 million in prizemoney and $175,000 in trophies.

The top 10 placed horses in the Melbourne Cup will all win a prize for their connections, with the winning Melbourne Cup horse receiving a lucrative $3.6 million plus trophies for its owner, trainer, jockey, strapper and breeder.

See below for the breakdown of the 2010 Melbourne Cup winnings.

Punters can also win big prizes this Melbourne Cup Carnival by getting in on the generous early odds open on the Melbourne Cup entries through

Currently the Bart Cummings-trained Dariana is the favourite at $13.

Check out the odds on the other possible Melbourne Cup runners at, where you are guaranteed to get the biggest possible returns on your winning wagers!

Melbourne Cup Prize Winnings

Placing Prize
First $3,600,000 in prizemoney
Trophies valued at:
$150,000 (owner)
$10,000 (trainer)
$10,000 (jockey)
$2,500 Tommy Woodcock Trophy (strapper)
$2,500 (breeder)
Second $900,000
Third $450,000
Fourth $250,000
Fifth $175,000
Sixth $125,000
Seventh $125,000
Eighth $125,000
Ninth $125,000
Tenth $125,000

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field