Waller Claims Trifecta In The 2010 Warwick Stakes – Led by Metal Bender

Headlining the action at Sydney’s Warwick Farm Racecourse on Saturday was the $150,000 Group Two Warwick Stakes (1400m), which resulted in trainer Chris Waller’s entrants dominating the classy field.

Let by Metal Bender, the Waller constituency saw a stunning trifecta carried out, with Triple Honour and Danleigh finishing second and third respectively – paying huge amounts through Ladbrokes.com.au.

Tim Clark was in the winning saddle, and guided his mount over the course of the race brilliantly. The pair held off a last chance surge by stablemate Triple Honour to claim the full credentials.

The devastating victory sent a message out to the Danasinga gelding’s potential rivals of the spring, as Waller pencilled in a next up jump in the $150,000 Group Two Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) on September 4.

The ultimate Spring Carnival Racing goals lie down in Melbourne, with the prestigious 2010 Cox Plate the prime target on October 23.

Danleigh headed into the 2010 Warwick Stakes as favourite at Ladbrokes.com.au, and despite not claiming the podium top-spot, still ran well in his backup to the second-placed Missile Stakes (1200m) run.

Peter Snowden’s Purple, a 2010 Melbourne Cup entrant, did well to finish fourth. Theseo started his spring campaign well and finished fifth, with Brilliant Light in sixth. There were just two-and-a-half lengths covering the first six finishers.

Champion hoop Clark claimed another Group victory on Saturday when he led Parables to a win in the Group Three Silver Shadow Stakes (1200m), while Blackball claimed the honours in the Group Three Up And Coming Stakes (1200m) in the other feature at Warwick Farm over the weekend.

The action on the spring tracks is certainly hotting up, so don’t head to your TAB to bet, just go to Ladbrokes.com.au! There you will find all the latest odds and markets on the action taking place around Australia.

2010 Warwick Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Metal Bender (NZ)
Chris Waller Tim Clark
Triple Honour (NZ)
Chris Waller Jim Cassidy
Chris Waller Hugh Bowman
Peter Snowden Joshua Parr
Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller
Brilliant Light
Kerry Parker Jay Ford
Count Encosta
John P Thompson Brenton Avdulla
Sniper’s Bullet
Tracey Bartley Blake Shinn
Dealer Principal
Anthony Cummings Peter Robl
Descarado (NZ)
Gai Waterhouse Glyn Schofield
Run for Naara
John P Thompson Danny Nikolic
Get Up Jude
Kevin Moses Tye Angland
No Wine No song
Kevin Moses Shane Moses
Ron Leemon Nathan Berry