Squamosa Remains Unbeaten After Winning The 2010 The Run To The Rose

The action at Sydney’s Spring Racing Carnival heated up as the $125,000 Group Three The Run To The Rose (1300m) took to the city’s prestigious Rosehill Racecourse on Saturday.

Only occasionally will a pre race favourite deliver on race day, but Squamosa rewarded those who believed in him at Ladbrokes.com.auwhen he beat 11 three-year-olds to claim full honours.

The emerging Not A Single Doubt colt remains unbeaten having won three from three, and proved many critics wrong by securing his maiden Group victory.

Apprentice jockey Blake Spriggs proved his worth to trainer Gai Waterhouse after directing the colt superbly from the saddle. Spriggs took Squamosa to the front of the pack soon after the jump where the team remained, but on the turn into the straight saw threats from Testarhythm and Classics.

The apprentice was superb in his reactions, not succumbing to the pressure. Instead he waited to pounce 300 metres from the finish, powering the three-year-old home to claim a win by over a length.

The previously unbeaten Masquerader put in a last chance dash and was unlucky not to claim the win in the closing stages. Trainer David Payne believes the defining moment lay on the 300 metre mark when jockey Glyn Schofield dropped his inside rein, and is relishing the rematch.

Both horses will jump in the $1 million Group One Golden Rose (1400m) on August 28 which is a treat for all avid horseracing punters at Ladbrokes.com.au.

Masquerader is the early market favourite with Ladbrokes.com.au at $4.40 with Squamosa at $5.50, so make sure to take advantage of these more lucrative markets before they shorten!

The Darren Smith-trained Testarhythm finished in third spot with Classics another place back in fourth.

2010 The Run To The Rose Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Gai Waterhouse Blake Spriggs
David Payne Glyn Schofield
Darren Smith Jim Cassidy
Peter Snowden Blake Shinn
Praecido (NZ)
David Payne Tommy Berry
Run For Levi
John P Thompson Peter Robl
John P Thompson Brenton Avdulla
Tim Martin Tye Angland
Circle Of Power
Rod Craig Nathan Berry
Big Sunday
Anthony Cummings Daniel Ganderton
Chula Vista
Anthony Cummings Tim Clark
Kudakulari (NZ)
Bart Cummings Hugh Bowman
From London
John P Thompson