Shoot Out Fires Home In 2010 JJ Liston Stakes Over Predatory Pricer

August 15, 2010

Shoot Out Fires Home In 2010 JJ Liston Stakes Over Predatory Pricer

Eyes were ready to feast on the battle between Shoot Out and So You Think as a true testament of action to come this spring when the $200,000 Group Two JJ Liston Stakes (1400m) took to the Caulfield track on Saturday.

While there was an initial disappointment after Bart Cummings revealed he would not risk So You Think due to the wet track conditions, the 2010 Liston Stakes was a thriller and paid well to those who went with the odds at

Shoot Out confirmed his spot as the 2010 Cox Plate favourite after a stunning run from out wide, and now sits at $5 for the spring feature victory at

With Stathi Katsidis taking the reins once again, the High Chaparral gelding was held out wide for the majority of the 1, 400 metre distance but finished strong to win by a long head.

Trainer John Wallace was quick to express his high ambition for the four-year-old, stating he has no doubts Shoot Out will be the 2010 Cox Plate winner on October 23 – so make sure to wager at before the odds get any shorter.

The Mick Price-trained Predatory Pricer took the lead early on and had another stunning run with Craig Newitt in the hot seat, but could not hold off the strength of Shoot Out in the final straight.

Price’s other entrant Heart Of Dreams got his spring campaign off with a strong jump and finished third, while the 2009 Melbourne Cup winner Shocking started slow but finished strong to claim seventh.

The next challenge for Shoot Out will be slightly tougher as the in-form gelding looks to face champion mare Typhoon Tracy in the $200,000 Group Two Memsie Stakes (1400m) on August 28, so make sure to follow the rewarding odds with

Also taking place at Caulfield on Saturday was the $125,000 Group Three Cockram Stakes (1400m) which saw a surprise win by Rhythm In Paris.

2010 JJ Liston Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Shoot Out
John Wallace Stathi Katsidis
Predatory Pricer
Mick Price Craig Newitt
Heart Of Dreams
Mick Price Damien Oliver
Vigor (NZ)
Danny O’Brien James Winks
Zavite (NZ)
Anthony Cummings Ben Melham
Monaco Consul (NZ)
Michael Moroney Craig Williams
Mark Kavanagh Stephen Baster
Sterling Prince (NZ)
Wayne Hillis Steven King
Tony Vasil Kelvin Sanderson
Mourayan (IRE)
Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall
Tony Vasil Mark Zahra
C’est La Guerre (NZ)
Robert Hickmott Danny Nikolic
Shamoline Warrior
Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
Shane Fliedner Glen Boss
So You Think (NZ)
Bart Cummings Steven Arnold

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field