Rebel Raider Claims The 2010 Spring Stakes Ahead Of Xaieta & Likable Will

The $115,000 Group Three (1200m) lit up Adelaide’s Morphettville Racecourse on Saturday as the feature race of South Australia’s spring racing season.

Dual derby winner Rebel Raider headed into the 2010 Spring Stakes as the favourite and didn’t disappoint punters who backed him at

After a long spell the five-year-old teamed up with jockey Clare Lindop once more and the duo continued their dominance on the track. The son of Reset was a strong favourite for the 2009 Melbourne Cup but after suffering a serious leg injury had to step aside.

Rebel Raider is once again on target for the 2010 Melbourne Cup and after the Spring Stakes victory saw his odds head in from $31 to $21 with – so make the most of them before they shorten anymore.

Lindop proved top knowledge of her mount by riding him just off the pace, then letting him go down the home straight to claim a length-and-a-quarter win.

The 2010 Spring Stakes win sent a message through the Australian horseracing world as Rebel Raider won effortlessly after being rested since March.

Xaieta claimed second spot, while the Darren Kolpin-trained Likable Will finished third in what was an exciting finish.

Prior to the jump Silent Surround was Rebel Raider’s strongest threat, but the four-year-old mare finished fourth.

Co-trainers Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas are undecided where to start the Cup contender next, although have hinted at a jump in the $400,000 Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) at Flemington on September 4 – so make sure to follow his campaign through

2010 Spring Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Rebel Raider
Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop
David Jolly Linda Meech
Likable Will
Darren Kolpin Adrian Patterson
Silent Surround
William Smart Simon Price
Right Fong
David Balfour Scott Westover
Magical Pearl
Dennis O’Leary Paul Gatt
Lapel (NZ)
Richard Jolly Libby Hopwood
Mick Whittle Justin Potter
Chief Of Staff
Mark Minervini Shayne Cahill
Oakbank Heights
Sue Jaensch Todd Pannell