45 International Horses Nominated for Melbourne Cup 2010

August 4, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

45 International Horses Nominated for Melbourne Cup 2010

The historic 150th Melbourne Cup is due to have a strong international presence after 45 overseas raiders were amongst yesterday’s 253 Melbourne Cup nominations.

The record Melbourne Cup prizemoney of $6 million on offer this year has attracted one of the largest numbers of international horses ready to take on Australia’s top stayers in the richest handicap race in the world on Tuesday November 2 at Flemington.

With so many classy horses from overseas eyeing off this year’s Melbourne Cup, the Ladbrokes.com.au odds on an international Melbourne Cup winner for 2010 have shortened dramatically.

The overseas contingent of horses in the Melbourne Cup entries from all over the globe including Europe, Hong Kong and Japan includes four horses from the stables of premier Irish trainer Dermot Weld.

Weld, who has previously won two Melbourne Cups with Vintage Crop (1993) and Media Puzzle (2002), is aiming for a Melbourne Cup hat trick with Majestic Concorde, Natural High, Group 1 Ascot Gold Cup (4000m) winner Rite Of Passage and one of the early favourites Profound Beauty.

The esteemed racing powerhouse Godolphin have nominated nine horses, vying for their maiden Melbourne Cup victory after being beaten by one on three occasions with Central Park (1999), Give The Slip (2001) and Crime Scene (2009) all running second in the Melbourne Cup.

Godolphin’s head trainer Saeed bin Suroor will attempt to give them their breakthrough Cup victory via horses including English St Leger winner Mastery, Group 1 winning galloper Campanologist and placegetter in last year’s Arc De Triomphe Cavalryman.

There are five top entries from English trainer Luca Cumani also seeking his breakthrough Melbourne Cup victory having nominated two previous Cup placegetters, Purple Moon (2007) and Bauer (2008), along with the highly rated Drunken Sailor, Manighar and Becqu Adoree.

For the first time since 2006, when the Japanese-trained duo of Delta Blues and Pop Rock finished one-two, the Melbourne Cup final field is set to feature at least one horse from Japan.

The approval of Japanese quarantine facilities by Australian officials ahead of the 2010 Melbourne Cup Carnival has seen five horses from Japan entered for the feature.

The favourite Japanese raider is recent Group 1 Tenno Sho (3200m) winner Jaguar Mail, owned by Katsumi Yoshida who also owned Delta Blues and Pop Rock.

Tenno Sho runner-up Meiner Kitz has also been entered for the 2010 Melbourne Cup.

Other top international contenders include this year’s Goodwood Cup winner Illustrious Blue, French stayers Americain and Laristan, and the Jeremy Noseda-trained Sans Frontieres.

View the full list of 2010 Melbourne Cup Nominations and get ready to make your selections as leading online bookmaker Ladbrokes.com.au open their ante-post Cup betting later in the week.

For the best 2010 Melbourne Cup Carnival coverage including race previews, results, form guides and betting tips bookmark this page.

This Melbourne Cup don’t waste your money at the TAB. We guarantee you will get better odds, bigger payouts and have a far better betting experience at Ladbrokes.com.au. Don’t wait until November to open you account, if you follow our Ladbrokes.com.au account and sign up today you will be eligible for a free $100 bet!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field