Melito Wins 2010 Winter Stakes

June 27, 2010

Melito Wins 2010 Winter Stakes

Gerald Ryan’s classy filly Melito finally put an end to her frustrating succession of minor placings this winter with a powerful win in the final Group 1 feature of the 2009/10 Australian racing season, the $500,000 Winter Stakes (1400m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Melito went out as the $3.70 favourite and was impressive as jockey Corey Brown worked her hard to overcome a wide barrier 12 draw and press through to take the lead. Throughout the early stages of the race Culminate and Gold Water were sitting beside Melito across the field, but she charged to the front at the 300m.

The three-year-old Redoute’s Choice filly then held off a late challenge by Kiwi mare Wealth Princess ($7.50) and went on to win by three quarters of a length, with Peter Snowden’s Beaded ($4) a further two lengths away in third.

Runner up Wealth Princess trained by Brent Gillovic in Halmilton, New Zealand, will next head to the stables of Lee Freedman to prepare for a 2010 Melbourne Cup Carnival campaign this spring.

Coming off a gallant second to Black Piranha last start in the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), Melito has now won four of her 18 career starts for $1,577,150 in prizemoney including her other elite level victory in the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) back in April at Randwick.

Her super consistent season full of consecutive placings in the nation’s best races has Melito in the running for the 2009/10 Filly of the Year.

Other feature Eagle Farm Races conducted on Saturday included the Group 3 Tattersall’s Cup (2200m) won by half-sister to Melito, Paul Messara’s Redoute’s Choice filly Mirrasalo; and the Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes (1200m) where warm favourite, Statue Of Liberty gelding Hay List secured victory.

Group racing takes a break throughout the bulk of July, until Saturday the 31st when the Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes (1200m) takes place at Caulfield. There are still plenty of excellent Listed race taking place across the country over the next few weeks, so make sure you check out the odds at!

2010 Winter Stakes Results







Gerald Ryan C Brown $3.70F
Brent Gillovic M J Walker $7.50 0.8
Peter Snowden L Cassidy $4 2.8
Stephen McKee S Seamer $16 3.8
Peter G Moody B Shinn $4.20 4.0
John P Thompson P Robl $81 4.3
John P Thompson S Katsidis $31 6.3
Gai Waterhouse N Rawiller $6.50 6.5
Robert Heathcote B El-Issa $51 8.8
Steele Ryan D Nikolic $31 11.0
Anthony Cummings J Byrne $41 19.3
Anthony Cummings S Scriven $41 24.5
John P Thompson

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Weir’s pair puts plenty ...

Weir’s pair puts plenty of quality into 2018 Eye Liner Stakes nominations

The Darren Weir trained Group 1 winner Lucky Hussler and Japanese import Danon...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Str...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Stradbroke Handicap winner

Santa Ana Lane scored his third Group 1 win and successive Group 1 wins with a...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?