Hot Danish Wins 2010 All Aged Stakes Beating Melito & Beaded

April 27, 2010

Hot Danish Wins 2010 All Aged Stakes Beating Melito & Beaded

At Randwick on Saturday, spirited six-year-old mare Hot Danish finally secured her maiden Group 1 win when she defeated a top-class field of gallopers in the $300,000 All Aged Stakes (1400m).

Trained by Les Bridge, the in-form Hot Danish ($6) charged home in 1:22.04 to defeat TJ Smith Stakes winning filly Melito ($5.50) by a length, with Peter Snowden’s Lonhro mare Beaded ($12) completing the all-female trifecta a further three-quarters of a length away.

It was a disappointing finish for the pre-race favourite Mic Mac ($3.70) finishing fifth, while second-elect in the betting markets, the Chris Waller-trained Danleigh ($4), was also well beaten in seventh place.

Hot Danish, ridden brilliantly by Tim Clark, turned the tables on the Gerald Ryan-trained runner-up Melito, after running second to the Redoute’s Choice filly last start in the Group 1 T J Smith Stakes (1200m).

It was Hot Danish’s seventh attempt at an elite level victory, with her other Group 1 runs marred by unfavourably heavy tracks.

But conditions were perfect on Saturday and Hot Danish relished the dry track and stayed in control during her dominant all-the-way win in the All Aged Stakes, even with Melito putting in a gallant challenge on the home straight.

Hot Danish, a daughter of Nothin’ Leica Dane, has now saluted in 13 of her 24 career starts and Saturday’s $180,000 first prize saw her total prizemoney soar to over $1.5 million.

More Group 1 glory could be on the cards for Hot Danish as she now heads up to Queensland for the excitement of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Bridge has already nominated her for the $650,000 Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m) on May 29, where she is likely to face off against Melito once more.

Randwick’s meeting on Saturday, the last of the Sydney autumn carnival, was packed full of elite racing action. The scheduled highlight was the $400,000 Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) where Melbourne Cup aspirant Jessicabeel claimed victory.

2010 Daily Telegraph All Aged Stakes Results:





Les Bridge Tim Clark
Gerald Ryan Blake Shinn
Peter Snowden Joshua Parr
Graeme Rogerson Michael Rodd
Greg Eurell Hugh Bowman
Michael Moroney Jay Ford
Chris Waller Nash Rawiller
Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy
Chris Waller Damien Oliver
Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
Bart Cummings Steven Arnold

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?