Zipping Wins 2010 Australian Cup

March 14, 2010

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

Zipping Wins 2010 Australian Cup

In his 15th attempt at Group 1 glory, veteran galloper Zipping claimed his well deserved and long awaited maiden Group 1 success at Flemington on Saturday in the $1million Darley Australian Cup (2000m), albeit by only a nose!

Ridden by in-form jockey Nicholas Hall, who copped a $1000 fine for excessive whip use by Racing Victoria Stewards, Zipping ($6) secured a devastatingly close victory a mere nose ahead of Sirmione ($7.50) with roughie Moatize ($31) finishing third ahead of the odds-on favourite Heart Of Dreams ($5) in fourth place.

Second and third placegetters Sirmione and Moatize are both prepared by master trainer Bart Cummings and came close to giving the Cups King double Group 1 success at the meeting following his first victory in the Group 1 Australian Guineas with Rock Classic.

If Sirmione hadn’t gone down by racing’s shortest possible margin, it would have been the Encosta De Lago gelding’s second Australian Cup success following his win in 2008. It was also a noteworthy run by stablemate Moatize who pushed on from last to a gallant third.

Cumming’s is sending Sirmione and Moatize to Sydney next to contest this Saturday’s $400, 000 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill.

The victory gave Hall his fourth Group 1 win of the autumn and Zipping’s trainer Robert Hickmott the first Group 1 victory of his career.

The 2010 Australian Cup was contested by 14 horses following the untimely death of David Hayes’ Our Aqaleem last week and the scratching of Mark Kavanagh’s Melbourne Cup winner Shocking after his hoof abscess worsened the morning before the race.

Eight-year-old Danehill gelding Zipping, a dual runner-up in the Group 1 Cox Plate and triple Group 2 Sandown Classic champion, has now won 14 of his 41 career starts for over $3.3million in prizemoney.

Despite Saturday’s win Zipping will not contest any of the Sydney Autumn Carnival features this year, with Hickmott opting instead to send the great old galloper to the paddock for a well earned spell.

Other highlights at Flemington on Saturday included Lord Tavistock’s shock win in the Group 2 Blamey Stakes (1600m), and the Group 3 Matron Stakes (1600m) won by brilliant filly Response.

2010 Darley Australian Cup Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 ZIPPING Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall
2 SIRMIONE Bart Cummings Luke Nolen
3 MOATIZE Bart Cummings Clare Lindop
4 HEART OF DREAMS Mick Price Craig Newitt
5 LITTORIO Nigel Blackiston Craig Williams
6 DIVINE REBEL (NZ) Michael Moroney Sebastian Murphy
7 MISS MAREN (NZ) Mick Price Danny Nikolic
8 MASTER O’REILLY (NZ) Danny O’Brien James Winks
9 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes Glen Boss
10 TOBIQUE Allan Denham Mark Zahara
11 GROWL (NZ) David Hayes Steven Arnold
12 ZAGREB David Hayes Paul Gait
13 ZARITA (NZ) Pat Hyland Dwayne Dunn
14 BARBARICUS Danny O’Brien Kerrin McEvoy

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field