Melbourne Cup Prize Money Set to Rise

November 2, 2009

Melbourne Cup Prize Money Set to Rise

The 2010 Melbourne Cup is expected to offer nearly double the prize money of this year’s race, with stakes tipped to be set at an unbelievable $10 million.

As Australia’s richest horserace, the prestigious Emirates Melbourne Cup held at Flemington tomorrow afternoon, has a very lucrative $5.65 million on offer for the winners and placegetters. But next year, for the 150th running of the Melbourne Cup, Victoria’s Major Events Company is anticipated to contribute millions of dollars in recognition of this significant Melbourne Cup milestone.

Each year the Melbourne Cup draws in hundreds of thousands of visitors to the state of Victoria, who spend up big on hotels, restaurants and other local attractions. The economic benefit to the city of Melbourne the race attracts is more than the formula one grand prix; which is why Major Events is happy to chip in and make the 2010 Melbourne Cup the biggest ever.

The allure of such an enormous prize is sure to draw more overseas entries for the 2010 Melbourne Cup.

Division of 2009 Melbourne Cup Prizemoney:

$5.5million cash & $150 000 trophies.

Place Share of Prizemoney

1st $3.3million & trophies valued at $150 000 awarded to owner ($125 000), trainer ($10 000), rider ($10 000), strapper (Tommy Woodcock Trophy $2 500) and breeder ($2 500).

2nd $835 000

3rd $420 000

4th $220 000

5th $150 000

6th $115 000

7th $115 000

8th $115 000

9th $115 000

10th $115 000

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancip...

Daysee Doom Heads 2018 Emancipation Stakes Field & Betting

Ron Quinton’s flying five-year-old Daysee Doom is tipped as the mare to beat...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018?

Winx next race? It’s the question always on the horizon after she leaves her...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field