Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

The final field and barriers for Saturday’s Group 1 $500 000 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) were announced today.

The event for three-year-olds at set weights is sure to be an intriguing market for the punters with a near capacity field of 15.

Mike Moroney’s unbeaten entry King Pulse has drawn the outside barrier, but the trainer is not concerned as the speedy sprinter, who gained attention with his sensational five length winning debut in Geelong, is in excellent form and ready for the challenge.

King Pulse will come up against last start winner at Randwick, Love Conquers All, the three-year-old Mossman colt starting from gate four with Steven King onboard.

The Flemington track is reported to be firm on Saturday for the race, which should suit John Thompson’s runner Honest Truth starting from barrier seven. The high-priced yearling had a great debut win before being defeated by four lengths in its second start in the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes due to a heavy track.

The Roman Consul Stakes winner, Shellscrape, is also set to contest the Coolmore on Saturday. Jockey Blake Shinn has the ride on the Chris Waller-trained sprinter, drawing gate five.

Some fierce competition will be found in Thousand Guineas winner Irish Lights, the David Hayes-trained filly coming up with barrier one.

The Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes is race four on the nine-race card for Derby Day on Saturday and is scheduled to start at 1:20pm.

Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field & Barriers:

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 PHELAN READY Jason McLachlan Brad Rawiller 13 55.5
2 TICKETS Peter G Moody Steven Arnold 2 55.5
3 SHELLSCRAPE Chris Waller Blake Shinn 5 55.5
4 DELAGO BOLT Gary Portelli Danny Nikolic 8 55.5
5 WANTED Peter G Moody Damien Oliver 14 55.5
6 MORE THAN GREAT David Payne Nash Rawiller 6 55.5
7 DEMERIT Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 10 55.5
8 TOLLESPRIT Shane Fliedner Chris Symons 9 55.5
9 LOVE CONQUERS ALL M, W & J Hawkes Steven King 4 55.5
10 KING PULSE Michael Moroney Mark Zahra 15 55.5
11 HONEST TRUTH John P Thompson Peter Robl 7 55.5
12 HEADWAY Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 12 53.5
13 PAPRIKA Liam Birchley Corey Brown 3 53.5
14 IRISH LIGHTS David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 1 53.5
15 MARQUARDT John P Thompson Hugh Bowman 11 53.5